PDA

View Full Version : Newbie has questions

Dr Zauis
05-09-2005, 08:26 AM
Hi..First let me say that Im very impressed! Thanks everyone!

Now a little about myself..I have been hacking TombRaider for about 2 years.
Progamming with Delphi for a year..(Not that good yet!)
Playing eq live since receiving game as a gift on Xmas of this year.
Discovered eqemu last week!

OK. Now to the questions..I figured out how to get to the servers a few days ago..I created a character on the official test server "Tha grand creation" and started playing! Woot!
Everything worked great..I even figured out how to zone and summon items!
I guess from what I gather the server was to be up till May 22 then it was to
reset to a legit server. Its not on the list since yesterday and I notice different ones..wich leads me to these questions..

Is it normal for servers to come and go?

Will this particular server eventually become the one with the most "uptime"?

Will there be servers dedicated to achieving the most "uptime"?

Are most servers on the list for private use?

Wich ones can I play on? I dont care if its legit/custom or not. I just want to
be able to play the game and be assured that the server will be there a year from now.

Can I use my Cable connection and create a server to appear on the list?

Can it be a server to allow say up to 20 players?

If so..Can I use something like a Linksys wireless router and play on my server with another computer or even a laptop by just selecting my server from the list?

Gee..I guess thats enough questions for now.(I have a million more but first I
would like to be a player for awhile and study the rest..

Thanks in advance for your answers! Everything you write will be news to my ears!

Also..Im assuming that at this time everything is not normal..I mean from what I gather. Only recently a program has been created to allow one to play