PDA

View Full Version : Import tool in EQAdmin


Bardboy
06-16-2002, 02:38 AM
I,m not really sure what im doing but, I think I've figured out how to use that import feature. It may have been posted before but, i couldn't find it.

I used Drawdes db for this. Correct me if im wrong. :)

Created new db in MYSQL called db2
Sourced it as db2.sql
ran import from EQADMIN
typed in db2 for database at 127.0.0.1

took a long time but, it works like a champ.

You can also take individual text files and import them. when you finish editing, change the .txt extention to .sql, create new database in mysql and source it, then import.
just ad the table structure data like this example for "Zones" :

--
-- Table structure for table 'zone'
--

CREATE TABLE zone (
short_name varchar(16) NOT NULL default '',
file_name varchar(16) default NULL,
long_name text,
safe_x float NOT NULL default '0',
safe_y float NOT NULL default '0',
safe_z float NOT NULL default '0',
minium_level tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
minium_status tinyint(3) unsigned NOT NULL default '0',
PRIMARY KEY (short_name)
) TYPE=MyISAM;

you can get that info from the db.sql file.
then add your own or someone elses data...

INSERT INTO zone VALUES ('qeynos',NULL,'South Qeynos',0,10,3,0,0);

use whatever format is used in the main db.sql

There is a way to do this in mysql directly but, this may be easier for some people.

Windcatcher
06-16-2002, 01:57 PM
Woot! Someone finally understands! ;)

The import function in the tool is for MERGING DATABASES. Whether it's upgrading with new data, bringing in old data, etc. that's the idea. It looks for duplicate records and remaps primary and foreign keys so everything dovetails nicely.

Wind

Bardboy
06-17-2002, 12:28 AM
That little proggy really rocks, Windcatcher!

Is it possible (relatively simple hopefully) for you to dump import errors to a text file so I can look at them?

thanks :)