PDA

View Full Version : Auto AFK and Auto-Dismiss Pet upon AFK


trevius
08-12-2008, 10:08 PM
I think it would be nice to setup an Auto-AFK feature. The opcode 0x6a5f could be used as it is currently unused and it comes in exactly 15 minutes after no activity has been made in the EQ window (including mouse movement). As soon as anything is done in the window again, the 0x6a5f opcode comes in again, almost as if it is for removing AFK status.

If possible, I think it would be nice to use this opcode to set AFK automatically and maybe have a new AFK message of it's own to signify that it is auto-AFK and not just normal /afk. Something like "Auto-AFK is enabled." could be the reply to anyone that sends them a tell. It would also be nice if normal /afk would override the auto-afk so that it isn't automatically removed if there is activity in the EQ window.

The main reason I would like to see Auto-AFK added is because it could then have added features like dismissing a pet upon /afk or Auto-AFK. This would keep people from abusing pets to gain experience while AFK. The pets on my server are probably stronger than most servers, but I bet AFK exping with pets is something that could probably be done on many servers. This would be a nice way to reduce or completely stop that from happening.

I will eventually try to look into how to start coding this (if it is even possible). But, I thought I would post the feature request in case any coders out there liked the idea and might want to work on it.

I think the opcode 0x6a5f has some good potential for things other than what I described here. It could even be used as an auto kick feature to keep players from AFKing on the server for hours and using up server bandwidth for no reason. The server could watch for that opcode to come in and then set some sort of timer (probably defined or disabled in a rule) in a table and once they reach the timer limit, they get kicked. So, if server ops set the rule to 45 minutes, it would add 45 minutes to the 15 minutes that the player had already been AFK when the opcode came in, which would equal an hour total of AFK. Then that player would get kicked. I am sure that there are other potential uses for it too.

trevius
08-16-2008, 05:06 AM
While posting in another thread about this about this opcode, I thought of an idea that might be extremely useful in the Emulator if it is possible. I was trying to think of why live might have it if they don't use auto-afk and I thought that maybe they use it as an Idle setting for characters to save server resources and more importantly, bandwidth.

The idea is that we use that opcode to set players into an idle state so that the server doesn't send them any (or very minimal) updates until they make that screen active again. This could potentially allow for a 10-20% increase in server population with good stability. It would also work perfectly for the bazaar if it was ever implemented! Imagine being able to have 100 characters in bazaar and them using almost no server bandwidth or resources!

I don't know if this is possible, but it would certainly be awesome if it could work. Other than trying to figure out how to stop sending updates and start it again, I think the hardest part would be figuring out how to find out which state they are supposed to be in. Since it sends the same opcode for going from active to inactive and also inactive to active, I don't know if there would be a way for the server to tell them apart. But, it so, I think this could be a pretty nice improvement for all servers.

So_1337
08-16-2008, 09:53 AM
Are you sure that Live didn't have an auto-AFK feature?

Rocker8956
08-16-2008, 11:41 AM
The server could watch for that opcode to come in and then set some sort of timer (probably defined or disabled in a rule) in a table and once they reach the timer limit, they get kicked.

Would this help get rid of the ghosting problems on some Windows servers? By Ghosting I mean the player getting disconnected but the characters staying in game.

zutfen
08-18-2008, 01:26 PM
Are you sure that Live didn't have an auto-AFK feature?

Live definitely had an auto AFK, at what point it was added though, I don't remember.

trevius
08-18-2008, 05:17 PM
Yes Rocker8956, that would help with the ghosting issue on Windows some, but it isn't an actual fix for it. I would love to see a real fix for that issue. It is definitely one of the biggest downsides to running a server on Windows.

When I played on Live, I don't ever remember there being an auto-afk feature, but I think I quite around OOW. So, maybe it was added in by the time Titanium came out. If so, then I would definitely think that this opcode is for that feature. But even if so, I think there is potential for us to use it to possibly do other things that might be useful.

Congdar
08-19-2008, 11:52 AM
There's something more to that opcode. Not sure what it is but it seems to be more active for this user on my server.... sent serveral times a second which is more than your 15 minutes and is causing lag for them. I wouldn't recommend that opcode.


[08.19. - 08:36:32] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:32] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:32] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:32] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:32] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:36] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:36] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:36] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:36] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:36] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:36] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:37] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:37] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:38] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:38] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:38] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:38] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:38] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:38] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:38] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:38] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:38] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:38] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:38] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:38] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:39] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:39] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:40] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:40] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:42] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:42] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:42] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:42] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:42] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.
[08.19. - 08:36:42] [CLIENT__NET_ERR] Ikeren: Unhandled incoming opcode: [OpCode OP_Unknown (0x6a5f) Size=8]
[08.19. - 08:36:42] Unable to convert EQ opcode 0x6a5f to an Application opcode.

trevius
08-19-2008, 05:44 PM
My guess is that this player is probably running the wrong version of EQ. Did you check to see which version they matched when the logged on?

Congdar
08-19-2008, 08:59 PM
it is Titanium_zone