PDA

View Full Version : CONTRIBUTION: Accessing $text, $mname, etc. in a plugin::sub()

Shendare
05-06-2009, 11:59 PM
Background: I'm a veteran (1999) EQ player and hobby programmer who is very new to the EQEmu scene and never looked at Perl until a few days ago, so I apologize ahead of time if I say or do anything n00bish.

It is way cool that one can put common subs into a 'plugins' file and access them from any other .pl file in the quest folders.

It is unfortunate that the 'plugins' subs do not have access to the game variables ($text, $mname, %itemcount, etc.).

I noticed that in order to get around this complication, everyone has been manually passing the required game variables as arguments to the plugin subs so they can be read (and in the case of \%itemcount, manipulated) as needed.

To me this seemed unintuitive and difficult to maintain, so I looked for a better way to get around the problem.

I ran across someone else's post (which I unfortunately cannot find anymore) somewhere on the forums here, which utilized Perl's 'caller(x)' function to access variables in the top-level scope, and knew I was on the right track.

After researching the caller() function and modifying the original post's code, I was able to come up with a simple function that gives any sub in any context access to ALL of the game variables accessible to EVENT_SAY et al ($name, $text, %itemcount, etc.), without having to pass them as arguments anymore!

Function: var($varName) -- Returns a reference to the game variable requested.

# var - Access a quest-related game variable from within any context
# Parameter: varName
sub var
{
my $varName = shift;

# Strip leading $, @, or % symbol from variable name
$varName =~ s/^(\$|@|%)//g;

if ($varName eq 'mob')
{
# Shortcut: Requesting $mob steps into EntityList to get $mob reference for the current NPC.

my $entity_list = plugin::val('entity_list');

return \$entity_list->GetMobID(plugin::val('mobid'));
}
else
{