PDA

View Full Version : New player with some questions

Hargael
10-05-2010, 07:24 AM
Hello everyone

I am new to EQEmu. I played EQ Live from 1999 to 2004, then WoW, but the nostalgia is too strong. So I decided to try to install a private server. I started in august to play on my own server, and I have some questions/remarks about the bot system :

- casters buffs : I play a warrior, and I use cleric and enchanter bots, and sometimes shaman, wizard ... Something disturbs me a lot : they buff all the time ! They spend all their mana buffing eachother, pet included, and I can never start a fight full mana. So I disabled buffs for the pets in the code. Maybe we could create a command ?

- enchanter automez : after reading the forum and looking at the code, I finally understand that we have to add some mez spells in the npc_spells_entries table (with type 2048 and npc_spells_id 705 I guess). I will try to do it this week. My question is : why don't use the MesmerizeTarget function ?

- enchanter rune : my enchanter bot always cast rune on me (and maybe on other bots). It costs some time and a lot of mana of course. We already have a command "runeme", maybe we could put runes in a new category than SpellType_Buff, or just remove them ?

- cleric heals : I discovered a big problem with them. It seems that my cleric never see me engaged, so he always casts HoT. I put some logs in my server code, and the result is that the function IsEngaged() returns false event if I am in combat. I typed #hatelist when targetting myself in combat and no result. Second problem : when my HPs are under 75% (in combat but not engaged apparently) the function that searches a spell in spell list finds nothing, so the cleric bot casts HoT by default. Any idea ?

That's all for now, that's the major points I see. I will test some modifications for the 2 enchanter points, but the cleric and engagement problem seems to be more tricky, and I could use some help.