PDA

View Full Version : Linux Questions

Nunnehi
02-16-2002, 04:38 AM
Hello

I'm a non-certified 2000 Admin, and I'm trying to learn linux. From what I've gathered up(from various sites), I believe I can generate a LAN, and NAT the connection together. I would like some input on this:

Keep in mind that I have already set a static IP address to eth0.

The IP address (LAN)blocks I want are:

Linux Server: 10.0.1.1
IP Blocks: 10.0.1.2-10.0.1.253
Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0
Gateway: 10.0.1.254

The external Internet IP is handled via PPP, and it is dynamic.

Question #1: Do I setup eth0's gateway to 10.0.1.254?

-----------------

Please run through these steps/commands and tell me if they are correct:

(the clients are windows machines)
"route add 255.255.255.255 dev eth0"
*edit /etc/dhcpd.conf*
default-lease-time 600;
max-lease-time 7200;
option subnet-mask 255.0.0.0;
option broadcast-address 10.0.1.255;
option routers 10.0.1.254;
option domain-name-servers (external dns), (external DNS);
option domain-name "matrix.local" ;

subnet 10.0.1.0 netmask 255.0.0.0 {
range 10.0.1.2 10.0.1.253;
}
*save, exit*

"touch /var/state/dhcp/dhcpd.leases"

"ipchains -A input -s 10.0.1.0/24 -p TCP -j REDIRECT"
"ipchains -P forward -s 10.0.1.0/24 -j MASQ"

*edit /etc/sysconfig/network*
*change FORWARD_IPV4=false to true*
*exit*
*reboot*

goto Windows machines and setup DHCP.

Will this work, or am I missing steps?

madborg
02-21-2002, 02:22 PM
you are way ahead of me on that network stuff. I keep my linux and windows behind a simple little box. I tried setting up network stuff and really got all confused and that was before NAT.

I was going to use my linux as a network router, but the reason why is clearly shown in your posting -- I don't know what to do and apparently I can even understand it after I see it.

TheClaus
02-22-2002, 04:40 AM
Actually Linux is very easy to setup for NAT and Firewall. Here is my setup. Rehat 7.1 no custom kernel