EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Support::Windows Servers (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=587)
-   -   Cannot continue without a datbase connection (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=39351)

Castle2.0 02-12-2015 02:00 AM

Cannot continue without a datbase connection
 
Hi, this is my first server. I did the whole setup pretty carefully.

When I run world.exe from the cmd line within EQemuserver folder I get

Code:

[World Server] Loading server configuration..
[World Server] CURRENT_VERSION: 1.1.3
[World Server] Added loginserver login.eqemulator.net:5998
[World Server] Connecting to MySQL...
[World Server] Cannot continue without a database connection.

I checked mysqld.exe is running so I'm not sure what the problem may be. Any feedback would be hugely appreciated!

vsab 02-12-2015 04:39 AM

is it connecting to 127.0.0.1 or localhost in your config? If it's using one, try the other.

Castle2.0 02-12-2015 05:43 AM

Vsab, thank you for your reponse! Just to come the details.

Code:

<tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

...

        <database>
                <host>127.0.0.1</host>
                <port>3306</port>
                <username>eq</username>
                <password>eq</password>
                <db>eq</db>
        </database>

...

        <qsdatabase>
                <host>127.0.0.1</host>
                <port>3306</port>
                <username>eq</username>
                <password>eq</password>
                <db>eq</db>
        </qsdatabase>

Would I change all these instances of 127.0.0.1 to localhost?

Update: I can get all the boxes to pop up for all the main .exe, but I couldn't see it on the server select. That's why I just ran world.exe as requested and I get that message. Even with localhost in those spots I get the same message.

vsab 02-12-2015 07:06 AM

in the command prompt, type:
mysql -ueq -peq eq

What happens?

Castle2.0 02-12-2015 09:41 AM

I hit Start on XAMPP Control Panel next to MySQL so it's running. Then I hit shell to open the command prompt. I try it on a regular command prompt with the same result.

Code:

Warning: Using a password on the command line interface can be insecure.
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'eq'@'localhost' (using password: YES)


epilz 02-12-2015 10:51 AM

Had similar issues on my first install when I used XAMPP. Try this:

mysql -ueq -p

You will be prompted for your password. Once you are at mysql prompt, type:

use eq;

Castle2.0 02-12-2015 11:28 AM

Code:

ERROR 2003 (HY000) can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061)
It gives me this.

vsab 02-12-2015 11:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Castle2.0 (Post 237775)
Code:

Warning: Using a password on the command line interface can be insecure.
ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'eq'@'localhost' (using password: YES)


Either you didn't create a user called "eq" in mysql, or the password isn't "eq". Do you remember the password you used when you created the user?

The command epilz mentioned is good if you want to try to guess your password if not.... ;)

Failing that try to log in as root. Hopefully you remember that password :)
mysql -uroot -p

Castle2.0 02-12-2015 12:11 PM

Logging in as root is no problem, but apparently the eq//eq username//pass doesn't work.

I never created eq user, but that was in the eqemu_config.xml.full that I renamed eqemu_config.xml.

Ok in that xml I changed the name to root and the password to the password I use.

Now it actually works! So I backup, then install updates, and then? How do I get it onto the login server?


UPDATE: After backup and updates I hit 0 for exit then I get some [World Server] text.
Code:

Could not load item data, but ignoring.
...
Could not load skill cap data, but ignoring.

This doesn't sound good...

But I got it onto the server select now, hurray!

I did it! Any other problems I'll make a separate thread because this one is solved. I am finally on the server select and in game!

Valorborn 03-06-2015 08:39 AM

Same Issue
 
I started a new build today and I am experiencing the same issues as OP.

I did not have any luck changing loop back to localhost though. I did the 'mysql -ueq -p' command and resulted in no user being found. I think it actually said that the column was empty. I ran two commands while logged into root on mysql.

CREATE USER 'eq'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'eq';

and

GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON * . * TO 'eq'@'localhost';

Now when I run mysql -ueq -peq eq I get "ERROR 1049 (42000): Unknown Database 'eq' but if I run mysql -ueq -peq it brings me to a mysql prompt and then if I type in mysql -ueq -peq eq it gives me a -> tabbed over and doesn't allow me to quit, exit, stop, restart, back, or any other vulgarity I type into it so I have to close the window.

I was able to access the database from a new command prompt as -ueq -peq and If I try to manually run world.exe I get:

c:\EQ\EQEmuServer>world.exe
[World Server] Loading server configuration..
[World Server] CURRENT_VERSION: 1.1.3
[World Server] Added loginserver login.emulator.net:5998
[World Server] Connecting to MySQL...
[World Server] Cannot continue without a database connection.


Respectfully,

joligario 03-06-2015 08:58 AM

Looks like you are getting confused.
-u = user (eq in your case)
-p = password (eq in your case)
The final entry is the database name (you didn't specify, but I assume peq)

So your final login (if the database name is peq) is mysql -ueq -peq peq

Valorborn 03-06-2015 09:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joligario (Post 238393)
Looks like you are getting confused.
-u = user (eq in your case)
-p = password (eq in your case)
The final entry is the database name (you didn't specify, but I assume peq)

So your final login (if the database name is peq) is mysql -ueq -peq peq

Right! When I run mysql -ueq -peq peq it brings me to the mysql prompt but when I try to run world.exe I still get the database connection issue.

Valorborn 03-06-2015 09:16 AM

This is my current eqemu_config.xml file config (I changed 127.0.0.1 to localhost like suggested before and I tried changing it back to 127.0.0.1 before submitting this reply to make sure. I also tried changing the eq user/pass to root/pass but It was the same).

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. Defaults shown -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>eq</username>
<password>eq</password>
<db>eq</db>
</database>

<qsdatabase>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>eq</username>
<password>eq</password>
<db>eq</db>
</qsdatabase>

vsab 03-06-2015 09:53 AM

If you followed http://wiki.eqemulator.org/p?Complet...Guide&frm=Main correctly then you named your database "peq". The fact that "mysql -ueq -peq peq" works verifies that you have.

If that is the case, you must point your config file to use the database called peq, as it is currently looking for a database called "eq":-

Change
Code:

<db>eq</db>
to
Code:

<db>peq</db>

Bamzal 03-06-2015 01:00 PM

that windows guide is put together well, and a great resource, but I noticed it fell short when describing the config file. It's counterintuitive by telling users to delete the basic config file and use the .full config file, but then just links to some other wiki page describing each field. The guide should hold your hand through that part just like it does with the rest, especially since the defaults in that file do not match what the guide tells you to do (see above for the database name as one example of this).


Other than that, it was a really great guide.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.