EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   OpenZone:: Q&A (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=628)
-   -   Globally Loaded Door Models (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=39647)

ak48 05-12-2015 01:33 AM

Globally Loaded Door Models
 
I have been fiddling with door models today quite a bit and have been able to make locally loaded models display in zones outside the zone that I found the original model in. My question is: How would I make a model load globally rather than locally?

Shendare 05-12-2015 10:33 AM

Non-local models are loaded by the client either on a zone-by-zone basis from the [zoneshortname]_chr.txt file, or globally for all zones if it's listed in GlobalLoad.txt.

Shendare 05-12-2015 10:35 AM

So if the model you want is in gfaydark.s3d and you want to use it everywhere, you'd add a line in GlobalLoad.txt like:

Code:

4,0,TFFF,gfaydark,Loading Other Models
It goes in order by the first number. Don't know what the second number or the bitflag represent.

ak48 05-12-2015 12:10 PM

What if the model I want is in a .eqg file rather than a .s3d file? Is it the same idea?

Shendare 05-12-2015 12:11 PM

Based on the layout of GlobalLoad.txt, it looks like you just add the extension for eqg files, so like:

Code:

4,0,TFFF,nektulos.eqg,Loading Other Models

ak48 05-12-2015 12:48 PM

I found my own solution, I ended up taking the files from the .eqg file using s3dspy and putting them in a file that is already being globally loaded.

Shendare 05-12-2015 12:49 PM

Well, if you'd rather chop up eqg/s3d files than edit text files, that's entirely up to you. lol

ak48 05-12-2015 12:52 PM

Editing my GlobalLoad was making me crash so I tried this and it worked for me.

Shendare 05-12-2015 12:57 PM

Crashing? Odd.

ak48 05-12-2015 01:11 PM

I crash if I use: 4,0,TFFF,thuledream.eqg,Loading Other Models

Secrets 05-12-2015 11:43 PM

thuledream might be a newer eqg. If you're using it from UF, it may not load. Try using ROF2 and its OnDemandResources text file in the resources folder.

Also I recommend switching over to ROF2 in general. it's a better client, less bugs, and the ondemandresources file optimizes load times.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.