EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Quests::Q&A (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=599)
-   -   $client->movepc (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=29916)

Kayen 11-03-2009 10:26 AM

$client->movepc
 
Anyone else having a problem with this function no longer working.

Every script I had it in will no longer use it.

nightsta69 11-03-2009 12:07 PM

yea I noticed it quit working I just use

Code:

quest::moveto(x,y,z,h,hold);
that still works

Kayen 11-03-2009 12:16 PM

Problem is without the quest object version you can't move players via npc scripts, ect you want to simulate a mob summoning a player durring combat among many many other uses.. It's obviously too valuable a function to let stay broken, I am sure it will be fixed.

nightsta69 11-03-2009 01:06 PM

Code:

quest::movepc(zoneid,x,y,z,heading=0)
does that not do the same thing? if its in the same zone, it "shouldn't" cause the client to reload the zone. should just pop him wherever you tell it to go, while still keeping agro. I think.

and if that no workie, then could try

Code:

quest::gmmove(x,y,z)

Kayen 11-03-2009 04:47 PM

GMMove does not work with players, only NPC.

Depending on what function you want the quest:: version will do the same thing however there are many situations where it can not.

You can not use quest:: version if their is no direct client NPC interaction. For example. You can search the list of all clients in zone, and lets say you want all those that are not within +/- a certain distance of your NPC to be summoned back to it. You have to use the object function.

If your just using a simple script for hail npc and then npc ports you to zone x, then yes it is not required.

KLS 11-03-2009 05:47 PM

Post a section of script that is failing. (PS always do this when asking for quest support)

Kayen 11-03-2009 09:50 PM

Its not a script, its just the general use of the function that stops any script cold and doesn't work anymore. I'll just write an example if you need.



Code:

sub EVENT_SAY {

if ($text =~/hail/i) {
$client->movepc(343,0, 0, 0, 0);
quest::shout("Debug: Shout if it works");
}
}


KLS 11-04-2009 01:10 AM

MovePC is case sensitive.

Kayen 11-04-2009 08:45 AM

Excellent, glad that is the only issue.

Just curious when that changed? I have countless scripts that used it as movepc not MovePC and they worked up until recently. Not a big deal to change them though.

KLS 11-04-2009 03:06 PM

...it hasn't changed is the thing. I'm pretty sure satan is meddling with your scripts or something.

Kayen 11-04-2009 07:42 PM

Devil be gone!

Anyways thanks it is working fine now. Wonder other magical surprises Storm Haven has decided to give...

trevius 11-04-2009 07:57 PM

Think I figured this one out lol:

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/sho...824#post180824

GeorgeS 11-08-2009 02:51 PM

I added the fix in my editor so that the syntax is case preserved.

GeorgeS


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.