EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Support::Windows Servers (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=587)
-   -   BST Tiger Pet Fix (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=42463)

Huppy 05-23-2019 11:36 AM

BST Tiger Pet Fix
 
Finally got the BST a real tiger pet, instead of that ridiculous, inanimate stuffed animal. Had to make a little adjustment in pet.cpp and throw in a global spawn script to help, because it was still spawning the regular (63) tiger race. The size increase was my own preference. (I hate poodles), lol
Code:

case VAHSHIR:
                        npc_type->race = TIGER;
                        npc_type->size *= 3.0f;
                        npc_type->texture = 4;
                        npc_type->gender = 2;
                        break;

This was for the BLpet09. (Spirit of Sharik spell). New tiger (on right) is race 439 with texture of 4.

https://i.ibb.co/tJzbz1k/BST-Pet.png

chrsschb 05-23-2019 12:10 PM

What's the global script you added?

Huppy 05-23-2019 12:17 PM

Actually I just logged in to make an edit, after trying something out in the code. Didn't know if it would work, but no need for the script now.
I changed npc_type->race = TIGER; to npc_type->race = 439; then recompiled. works great just like that.

demonstar55 05-23-2019 06:10 PM

They work fine on PEQ ...

Huppy 05-23-2019 07:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demonstar55 (Post 262588)
They work fine on PEQ ...

Have no idea. I've been seeing that inanimate pet tiger for years on this project. (just slides along when it follows you). Source code and database are always kept current. Can I borrow the PEQ devs for a little attention on the "vanilla" version we get ? :P

demonstar55 05-23-2019 10:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Huppy (Post 262589)
Have no idea. I've been seeing that inanimate pet tiger for years on this project. (just slides along when it follows you). Source code and database are always kept current. Can I borrow the PEQ devs for a little attention on the "vanilla" version we get ? :P

You get the same PEQ does.

Huppy 05-23-2019 11:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demonstar55 (Post 262590)
You get the same PEQ does.

Ya, I know, sorry, I was being sarcastic. If that pet tiger is functioning properly on the PEQ, I would be totally stumped of the issue being specific to my end. That pic I posted is a screen shot from a fresh DB this last Monday.(from the daily dump). But in all the installs I have done over the years, all I have ever seen was that inanimate tiger pet until I altered that source. It would be nice to know if others are seeing have been seeing the same thing for just as long, or maybe something in my globalload ? I see that on all my client versions (TIT, UF, RoF2).
Maybe I'll log on to the PEQ in a day or so, and roll up a beastie and see if I get the same thing.

demonstar55 05-24-2019 01:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Huppy (Post 262592)
Ya, I know, sorry, I was being sarcastic. If that pet tiger is functioning properly on the PEQ, I would be totally stumped of the issue being specific to my end. That pic I posted is a screen shot from a fresh DB this last Monday.(from the daily dump). But in all the installs I have done over the years, all I have ever seen was that inanimate tiger pet until I altered that source. It would be nice to know if others are seeing have been seeing the same thing for just as long, or maybe something in my globalload ? I see that on all my client versions (TIT, UF, RoF2).
Maybe I'll log on to the PEQ in a day or so, and roll up a beastie and see if I get the same thing.

You probably deleted the model from globalload.

TigerFeet 05-24-2019 11:53 PM

Huppy, just a thought on this.
I have a bst on peq grand design and the tiger warder looks just fine. I use all old models except for vah shir, but kept pretty normal graphic settings.

I decided to make a stripped down version of the client (RoF2 btw) to use less resources for the "less important" group members, so turned all new models off and turned doown graphic settings both in game and wth the OptionEditor application in the Rof2 folder. I noticed i saw the "stuffed toy" on those characters. I fiddled a bit with the graphic/option settings on the stripped client a bit but couldn't get the tiger back. As my main is a bst i on't see it from the other accounts very often but often wondered what I did to turn it into a stuffed toy.

But with Rof2/PEQ grand creation the tiger works fine, with old models (except vah shir) and with horses and elementals off.

I can do some testing on my setup if it will help you any.

Andrew

Huppy 05-25-2019 01:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by demonstar55 (Post 262594)
You probably deleted the model from globalload.

Yup, that was the problem demonstar, thanks. I'd been using a modded globalload for a long time, but I still have all my original clean backups and the 63 race tiger works like it should. Guess I got years of cleaning up to do on the my global file. ;)

TigerFeet 05-25-2019 06:13 AM

I have no idea what globalload does - but glad you have it sorted out. Yet another thing for me to learn and watch out for.
Better get those re-coding fingers warmed up Huppy :)

Huppy 05-25-2019 08:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TigerFeet (Post 262609)
I have no idea what globalload does - but glad you have it sorted out. Yet another thing for me to learn and watch out for.

The globalload.txt file in your client resources folder. It loads characters on a global basis, rather than just being confined to one zone, when your client enters it. For example, If you tried to spawn a character from potimeb in the PoK, it would probably show up as a human, if there's no global entry for it in your client.

TigerFeet 05-27-2019 09:08 AM

Everytime I talk to you Huppy I learn so much. I haven't tried spawing in a mob except via the spawn2 DB - with all the other NPC definitions needed. I'm playing with spells and loot tables atm. I have some ideas I know I can do within the existing server-DB set-up, but not thought about changing any graphics. I would like to play with some instances in the future and I can see where this sort of info will be useful.
As always Huppy, you teach me one thing, and I realise there are 10 more things I don't yet understand.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.