EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Support::General Support (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=598)
-   -   Humans everywhere (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=29657)

reddogut 09-25-2009 12:26 PM

Humans everywhere
 
On my private server when I zone into West Freeport, almost every NPC/MOB shows up as male humans. Why would it be doing that?

ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 01:02 PM

it usualy means your client failed to load proper npc models.
this may happen if you missing proper model loading files per zone - they usualy plain text files

check your EQ folder for any westfreeport files

reddogut 09-25-2009 02:15 PM

I have a freeportwest_chr.txt and freportw_chr.txt files in my Everquest game folder.

ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 02:37 PM

I am presume one is for T. FP and another for SoF FP - which one you running?

and is there anything inside those files?

reddogut 09-25-2009 02:55 PM

Sorry.... I am running SoF.

westfreeport_chr.txt

Code:

17
avi,southkarana_chr
bet,ecommons_chr
spi,ecommons_chr
btn,btn
fpm,freporte_chr
gef,paineel_chr
pir,cazicthule_chr
qcm,qeynos_chr
qcf,qeynos_chr
rtn,rtn
snk,snk
srn,srn
rtn,rtn
btn,btn
scr,scr_chr
bse,bse
mmy,mmy_chr

freportw_chr.txt

Code:

2
rtn,rtn
btn,btn


ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 03:01 PM

try this:

copy the text inside the bigger file over to the smaller one (complitely over, deleting the smaller one entries- they allready included in the big one)

then restart the game

reddogut 09-25-2009 03:48 PM

That fixed a few of the npc's.. the freeport malitia/guards are back to normal, so are the fire beetles... but the rodents and Orc's and a few others are still humans.

ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 05:48 PM

well as Far as I can tell rodents for one should be working. The line: "rtn,rtn" is the one corresponding to new rats model.
It is possible that the mobs have wrong gender or wrong texture assigned to them. Most non human mobs usually need to have gender 2. You may want to check on that, at least for rodents that is.

trevius 09-25-2009 06:07 PM

I am sure the issue is that they updated certain models like rats, bats, and Orcs, so the zones are setup to load the new models and not the old ones anymore. There are 2 ways to fix that problem:

1. You can update the race numbers for those races to use the new models that have replaced them.

2. You can find the original freportw_chr.txt file that includes the old models and paste it into your EQ folder.

reddogut 09-25-2009 06:09 PM

So I could pull the old Titanium files and they would work?

ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 06:42 PM

#1. if you want to see new models:

You need to look up in your DB for freeport what race are your rats/rodents for example and orcs.

for rats try setting their race to 415, and for orcs to 458 (note that for orcs a texture number and helm number need to be the same)


#2
if you want to get old models:
you will need to add/replace few entries in that txt file:

replace: "rtn,rtn" with "rat,akanon_chr"

The orc model on other was native to freeport, and if orcs do not show up- that mean that under SoF client they are gone for good.



Personally I recommend going with option 1

reddogut 09-25-2009 08:47 PM

Thank you for your help ChaosSlayer for all your help.

So I went into the npc_types table and changed "a_rodent" from model 36 to 415 and made sure to leave the gender alone (2). And abracadabra, it worked.

So am I going to have to go in and change every model for every zone that is still using the old models?

To be honest I was wondering what the big deal was with SoF, but these new models are kinda cool. Is there a list of new SoF models... I could create an MYSql script to change them all at once.

Again, thanks again for all the replies.

reddogut 09-25-2009 11:02 PM

Now I'm confused... Like I said, I went into the npc_types table and changed the races for the myotis bats, rats, rodents, Orc Centurions, Deathfist Pawns... blah blah blah and now they are all using the newer models... and they look great. But no matter what I change snakes to, they are still human males. I made sure that gender was 2 as well. And it seems to only be West Freeport. The sankes in East Freeport show up fine (as snakes) and are using the same model (37) as the ones in West Freeport that are showing up as human males.

What the heck am I missing?

ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 11:11 PM

you may not want to change ALL the models, cause knowing SoE - they only changed models for zones they rewamped. For exmaple FP now uses new rats, but Qeynos can very well still be using the old rats.

To check this out, you will need to zone to Qeynos and see how rats there appear. If they appear as human, check the Qeynos txt files and see if there is "rtn,rtn" there. If its not, then same as for Freeport- add the "rtn, rtn" line, and change rat race to new model race.

In other words this process going zone by zone figuring what they changed and what they didn't may take a while.

But I can give you a list of SoF rewamped zones to make it easier:

-Freeport
-Commons
-Desert of Ro
-Innothule Swamp
-High Pass
-Misty Thiket
-Ocean of Tears
-Toxxulia Forest


On other hand, if you wish you can change say all old rats to new rats, but then you may want to make the new rats to be a global model.

To do that you will need to run this mySQL query:

update npc_types set race=415 where race=36;

Then you will need to make the model global.

In your EQ folder there should be a sub folder called Resources
Inside of it a txt file called GlobalLoad.txt
Open it up and a place where lines start with 3,0, TFFF
And insert a new line in between there with following:

3,0,TFFF,rtn.eqg,Loading Characters

you may want to make a backup copy of this file before you change it.

A similar procedure could be done for the rest of the models.


The orc model is simpler- its already global one, so all you can do to make all orcs to be the new orcs is run this:

update npc_type set race=458 where race=54;


Hopefully this will get you what you looking for =)

You may want to look into emulator Wiki for full list of all races.
Unfortunately its incomplete as list of models only goes as far as DoDH expansion.

ChaosSlayerZ 09-25-2009 11:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reddogut (Post 179223)
Now I'm confused... Like I said, I went into the npc_types table and changed the races for the myotis bats, rats, rodents, Orc Centurions, Deathfist Pawns... blah blah blah and now they are all using the newer models... and they look great. But no matter what I change snakes to, they are still human males. I made sure that gender was 2 as well. And it seems to only be West Freeport. The sankes in East Freeport show up fine (as snakes) and are using the same model (37) as the ones in West Freeport that are showing up as human males.

What the heck am I missing?

Ah thats cause when SoE rewamped that part of Freeport they delete the old model graphics.

to add new snakes to that zone you will need to add:

snk,snk to that freeport txt file (and update lines count at the top)

OR follow my global guide from above and add

3,0,TFFF,snk.eqg,Loading Characters

to the GlobalLoad.txt file

new snake race number is 468


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.