EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Support::General Support (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=598)
-   -   ROF Client performance (Linux) (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=42822)

tayloraustin81 02-08-2020 08:45 PM

ROF Client performance (Linux)
 
I'd prefer to run my emu from Linux, I have no trouble if using the Titanium client. I'd like to use the ROF client but it just does not run under Linux.

I've got Linux Mint 19.1 on a 500gb drive.
A10/16Gb ram
R9 280
Titanium works great under POL4.3.4/Wine
-Try to run ROF client, considerable lag when starting the game and logging in. 15+ minutes to load char select. Over an hour to enter the world.

I've got Win10 on a 250gb drive. My ROF client works great here, no complaints. I just hate Windows.

I think the ROF client has some settings to take advantage of multi-core/threads that POL is unable to process which is why one core saturates to 100% cpu usage and the game is unplayable. I've tried using the performance settings from the ROF client setup guide and they are more geared towards a Win setup than Linux.

Are there any settings I should try with either POL or with the eq client files? I much rather use Linux over Win but if it's a lost cause, I guess it is what it is. I know my system is old but it runs what I want without issue. I know I'm probably losing about 50% of my graphics processing power using Linux because there are no specific linux driver updates from AMD for this card, its registered as a Radeon HD7950-8950.But I think the issue is with the cpu and it running on a single core.

tayloraustin81 02-09-2020 07:38 PM

Solved
 
I found the solution. Of course, I did edit my eqclient.ini file's cpuaffinity1-8 to =-1. I also updated my Linux kernel from 4.15 to 5.0.15. After all the research and articles, something made me go into the task manager in POL and check the cpu affinity, sure enough, cpu0 was the only one selected.

I'm not 100% certain this will be saved the next time I start the game however, easy fix. I set all four cpu cores, and performance is perfect.
[IMG]https://i155.photobucket.com/albums/...pshkymyfyy.png[/IMG]


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.