EQEmulator Forums

EQEmulator Forums (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/index.php)
-   Development::Feature Requests (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=612)
-   -   Levitation Bounce (https://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=26746)

Annihilator 11-11-2008 12:20 PM

Levitation Bounce

When Secrets of Faydwer went live, SoE removed the bounce effect when you have a levitation type spell on you. Would it be possible to introduce this to the Emu or is it a client thing?

Derision 11-11-2008 12:32 PM

If you have the ability to edit and compile the source code, changing file spells.cpp line 985 from:

Code:

SendAppearancePacket(AT_Levitate, 2, true, true);
to

Code:

SendAppearancePacket(AT_Levitate, 1, true, true);
should do the trick. 2 means bounce, 1 means don't bounce :)

Annihilator 11-11-2008 01:31 PM

That sounds simple enough. I haven't even attempted to do any source modifications yet. I'm still learning perl scripting and cosmetic type things. Could it be added as a rule for easier modification for the novice?

MNWatchdog 11-12-2008 01:26 AM

Add a rule!

AndMetal 11-12-2008 01:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Annihilator (Post 159828)
Could it be added as a rule for easier modification for the novice?

I would think this would be an easy way to do it:

Code:

SendAppearancePacket(AT_Levitate, RuleB(Character, LevitationBounce) ? 2 : 1, true, true);
Then just define a boolean rule in the rules system with a default value of true.

MNWatchdog 11-12-2008 01:36 AM

Was just thinking, wouldnt turning off the bounce also reduce the clients sending of location updates since while bouncing, the Z axis is constantly changing?

Its probably the reason Sony changed this beyond the fact that it tends to lag everyone while raiding for those raids where DMF/levitate is needed.

steve 11-12-2008 04:14 AM

Does the Z axis actually change when bobbing though? I was always under the impression the bobbing was merely just an 'appearance' thing.