Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2007, 06:07 PM
jdam7459
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Exclamation Quest trouble

hello everyone. im having some trouble with my quests working properly. when i hail the npcs in-game they do not respond but i have hail responses for all of them, here's a sample quest for Captain Gramosi in the tutorial zone.

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if($text=~/Hail/i)
{
quest::say("ARGH always being interrupted! Do you not know that we have a city to save! Move along citizen!");
}

elsif($text=~/Woljag/i)
{
quest::say("Oh, I see. Sorry for being so rude then. I would let you join this regiment but...");
quest::emote("leans over an whispers...");
quest::say("You look like you have come prepared compared to these men.");
quest::emote("laughs.");
quest::say("So will you be needing some combat [supplies]?");
}

elsif($text=~/supplies/i)
{
quest::say("Here you go, what was it, $name? It's not much but you will be surprised how helpful it will be. Oh, and I you need [spells] also, let me know.");
quest::exp(1000);
quest::givecash(0,5,7,2);
quest::summonitem(99907);
}


elsif($text=~/spells/i}
{
quest::say("Evoker Eriona has some beginner's spells that she managed to salvage from North Qeynos. Speak with her about this matter. The blessing of Mithaniel Marr be upon you always!");
quest::selfcast(202);
quest::say("Oh, and give this to the armorer, he'll know what to do.");
quest::summonitem(9990;
}
}

this is saved as Captain_Gramosi.pl in eqemu\quests\tutorial directory. if someone could please help me with this it would be greatly appreicated! Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2007, 03:03 AM
Kayot
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Subsection 185.D354 C.12
Posts: 346
Default

Try this, I removed the else parts.

Code:
sub EVENT_SAY
{
	if($text=~/Hail/i)
	{
		quest::say("ARGH always being interrupted! Do you not know that we have a city to save! Move along citizen!");
	}
	if($text=~/Woljag/i)
	{
		quest::say("Oh, I see. Sorry for being so rude then. I would let you join this regiment but...");
		quest::emote("leans over an whispers...");
		quest::say("You look like you have come prepared compared to these men.");
		quest::emote("laughs.");
		quest::say("So will you be needing some combat [supplies]?");
	}
	if($text=~/supplies/i)
	{
		quest::say("Here you go, what was it, $name? It's not much but you will be surprised how helpful it will be. Oh, and I you need [spells] also, let me know.");
		quest::exp(1000);
		quest::givecash(0,5,7,2);
		quest::summonitem(99907);
	}
	if($text=~/spells/i}
	{
		quest::say("Evoker Eriona has some beginner's spells that she managed to salvage from North Qeynos. Speak with her about this matter. The blessing of Mithaniel Marr be upon you always!");
		quest::selfcast(202);
		quest::say("Oh, and give this to the armorer, he'll know what to do.");
		quest::summonitem(99908);
	}
}
__________________
If at first you don't succeed destroy all evidence that you ever tried.

God doesn't give second chances... Hell, he sets you up the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2007, 11:24 AM
jdam7459
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 45
Default I'm an idiot

Look at this real good, I figured it out thanks for the post

Original Code:

if($text=~/spells/i}

New Code:

if($text=~/spells/i)

Not being sleepy makes all the difference!

Thanks man.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2007, 12:29 PM
John Adams
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdam7459
if($text=~/spells/i}
I cannot tell you how many times I've done the same thing... I can't tell you because I refuse to admit it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2007, 12:44 PM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

One nice thing about Linux desktops; even the common text editors are "code friendly", if i would have thought to copy/paste script to my editor, would have seen a small problem like that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2007, 02:49 PM
Kayot
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Subsection 185.D354 C.12
Posts: 346
Default

Well, this event has taught me to put a syntax color for brackets and parenthesis. I never even considered that an error could occur like this.
__________________
If at first you don't succeed destroy all evidence that you ever tried.

God doesn't give second chances... Hell, he sets you up the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2007, 05:53 AM
GeorgeS
Forum Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,475
Default

Actually syntax checking is a very good feature. My quest editor would have flagged that error as a missing right bracket.


I also see copying pasting will change appearance of brackets - even different fonts make them look odd. I use standard VB/C fonts.


GeorgeS
__________________
Your source for EQ database tools
Toolshop is open for business


http://www.georgestools.chrsschb.com//
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3