Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Linux Servers

Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2009, 05:53 PM
KingMort
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 841
Default Compiling for Optimum Speed

I'm on Fedora Core 6 Linux atm.. I want to change from our normal Debug mode to the official Retail / Release version... How does one go about that in Linux ??

King
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2009, 02:58 AM
erde
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 82
Default

open world/makefile
look for this line:
COPTS=$(WFLAGS) -g -march=i686 -O -pthread -pipe -I../common/SocketLib \
-DFX -D_GNU_SOURCE -DINVERSEXY -DWORLD $(DFLAGS) $(MYSQL_FLAGS) $(PERL_FLAGS)

remove the option -g and change -O to -O3. maybe you would lower the loglevel? if so change EQDEBUG=5 to a lower value.

from debug.h the EQDEBUG values
////// File/Console options
// 0 <= Quiet mode Errors to file Status and Normal ignored
// 1 >= Status and Normal to console, Errors to file
// 2 >= Status, Normal, and Error to console and logfile
// 3 >= Lite debug
// 4 >= Medium debug
// 5 >= Debug release (Anything higher is not recommended for regular use)
// 6 == (Reserved for special builds) Login opcode debug All packets dumped
// 7 == (Reserved for special builds) Chat Opcode debug All packets dumped
// 8 == (Reserved for special builds) World opcode debug All packets dumped
// 9 == (Reserved for special builds) Zone Opcode debug All packets dumped
// 10 >= More than you ever wanted to know

just do the same for the zone and eqlaunch makefile

I am not a gcc expert!

Sorry for the bad english, i am from germany.
__________________
"Yes, the artwork is awful. I am an engineer, not an artist " - David H. Eberly
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2009, 03:21 AM
erde
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 82
Default

gcc hompage with optimization flags link
__________________
"Yes, the artwork is awful. I am an engineer, not an artist " - David H. Eberly
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-03-2009, 07:38 PM
KingMort
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Much appreciated ! Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2009, 01:14 AM
supersolar
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

Old thread but I've been away for a while. When you compile make sure to toss in your -jx flag. That alone will get a lot more work when you're doing the work.

To figure out the value of x tale the number of cpu threads and add 1 to it. So a single core cpu with no hyperthreading gets make -j2, a quad core would get -j5, and so on. Now note this will totally peg your machine while it's doing this, so you may step back one or two numbers if you run anything else on the box, like apache.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3