Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2018, 12:35 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default Merchantlist probability ?

Tried to test this recent feature by taking a random merchant and giving all items on the list 25% chance to appear.
Expected it to have various items on each reload, however instead I get either all or nothing effect - either all items appear or none at all...

Puzzled. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2018, 07:28 PM
Kingly_Krab's Avatar
Kingly_Krab
Developer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,543
Default

That was an oversight on my part when I initially implemented the probability field. I just fixed it in my recent commit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2018, 08:12 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

Thank you Kingly_Krab
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2018, 09:54 PM
Kingly_Krab's Avatar
Kingly_Krab
Developer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,543
Default

You're welcome, glad I could help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2020, 08:36 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingly_Krab View Post
You're welcome, glad I could help.
Hey Kingly, 2 years later- was thing actually fixed?

I am running supposedly fully updated server and DB and merchant behavior looks the same, when I give all items on merchant list 25% probability, they ALL either appear or not. So, its exactly same as before.


UPDATE - nevermind, now that I am fully updated - it works Its awesome!


UPDATE: Ok another question - apparently the available items re-roll every time i close and open vendor window. Not just on respawn
Is that intended? Cause that sort of defeats purpose of having a RARE occurrence item if I can just open and close vendor 10 times to get exactly what I want?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2020, 11:22 PM
lymontyme
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 24
Default

Does this have to do with some limit of items per vendor? I've noticed when some vendors are "full," I can sell them something and it will just disappear, rather than appearing in their sell list. Limit seems to be somewhere in the 75ish range, at least for Titanium client.

Last edited by lymontyme; 09-28-2020 at 11:23 PM.. Reason: Because your teeth are powdery.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-29-2020, 07:43 AM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lymontyme View Post
Does this have to do with some limit of items per vendor? I've noticed when some vendors are "full," I can sell them something and it will just disappear, rather than appearing in their sell list. Limit seems to be somewhere in the 75ish range, at least for Titanium client.
no, thats a different issue. I am testing this on a merchant who has likr 10 items total for sale and no temps
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-29-2020, 03:45 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,818
Default

Merchant lists wipe their 'temp' items every time the server starts - by default.

There is a rule that you can change to allow the items to accumulate.

World:ClearTempMerchantList .. I believe.


There is another issue, that may still be active, in regards to contiguous merchant slot ids.

If there is a break in the sequence, anything after the break will not show up.

Pretty sure this is due to a client behavior .. but, it has been discussed by the devs and others.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-29-2020, 06:28 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
Merchant lists wipe their 'temp' items every time the server starts - by default.

There is a rule that you can change to allow the items to accumulate.

World:ClearTempMerchantList .. I believe.


There is another issue, that may still be active, in regards to contiguous merchant slot ids.

If there is a break in the sequence, anything after the break will not show up.

Pretty sure this is due to a client behavior .. but, it has been discussed by the devs and others.

Uleat, so anything on the subject that inventory availability RNG re-rolls every-time I open and close the merchant? (Rather than on re-spawn)?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-30-2020, 01:01 AM
Thalix's Avatar
Thalix
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 91
Default

To reload the item list only on respawn would be unfavorable. Nowadays some servers reboot every few weeks. And shopkeepers are usually not killed.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-30-2020, 05:58 AM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thalix View Post
To reload the item list only on respawn would be unfavorable. Nowadays some servers reboot every few weeks. And shopkeepers are usually not killed.
yeah, thats why you run a perl script that repops npc say every 4-8 hours.
Otherwise feature is pointless.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:42 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3