Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::General Discussion

General::General Discussion General discussion about EverQuest(tm), EQEMu, and related topics.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 08-29-2007, 12:29 AM
boogerific
Sarnak

Default Save the Wiki NOW

Lately I've been despamming the wiki. I'm not a coder or programmer so I figure it's a good way for a player to help out a little.

We are in serious danger of losing the wiki to the spammers completely over time. Most of the spammers are passive; they just add spam to the page. Now they're deleting the data and replacing it with spam. How do I know this? Because when I open a page where I've deleted the spam before and there's no note or data left there, the only reasonable conclusion is that the spammer replaced it with their garbage. Today I found four (out of the fourteen I cleaned up) pages like that.

It's time to *seriously* lock it down. Either block the spammers or limit editing access to the page owner plus a few trusted people (who will actually stay on top of it) to whom changes can be submitted, then added. If this isn't done soon, we may as well kiss the wiki goodbye now.
Old 08-29-2007, 01:38 AM
raisins4eyes
Fire Beetle

I totally agree. I am really new to the emu thing and the wiki has been my best friend. I am also tired of seeing 10k+ links to garbage and other things on the pages. I am to the point I was about to get an account just to wipe out all the junk. Also on that line, if I have an account to take out the junk someone else has one to put it back in! So yes, I totally agree.
Old 08-29-2007, 04:24 AM
boogerific
Sarnak

I cleaned up the rest of the spammed pages. Would it be of any help if I listed the pages and page owners here that no longer have data as I go along?
Old 08-30-2007, 09:39 PM
John Adams
Demi-God