Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2019, 08:22 AM
strugglegenerator
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Default .pl scripts not working in North Ro

I've been re-using the Translocator .pl scripts in various zones and haven't ran into any issues until I tried to use one in North Ro. I noticed that none of the .pl scripts work in North Ro. Only LUA scripts work in North Ro.

What would cause something like this to only happen in 1 specific zone? I am completely baffled.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2019, 10:33 AM
jsr
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 167
Default

are there lua and perl scripts with the same name?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2019, 10:41 AM
strugglegenerator
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Default

No. For now I was able to get a LUA script to work in the North Ro folder that does the same thing that the Perl script was doing, but I'm still wondering why Perl scripts don't work in the North Ro quests folder.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2019, 07:28 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,657
Default

Are you in the correct zone for the folder you're using? (i.e., nro vs northro)
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2019, 07:50 PM
strugglegenerator
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Default

Yes, I am using nro. I tried putting it into northro too, but that didn't work either.

While we are on the topic, why are there two folders for Nothern Desert of Ro in the first place?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2019, 08:53 PM
Dhaymion
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 5
Default

One is classic, and one is the revamped version. Which is why Uleat was asking. If you look on your database they have their own unique zone ID. Nro= Classic, and Northro=revamped
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2019, 08:58 PM
jsr
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 167
Default

Tried a simple script to see if that works? Something like..

player.pl

Code:
sub EVENT_SAY {

	if($text=~/hail/i){
		$client->Message(300, "Yes this works");
	}

}
Look out for a player.lua file in nro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-25-2019, 01:03 AM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,657
Default

Yeah, I didn't ask that...

If a lua and perl file both exist for any given file name, the lua always takes precedence.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-25-2019, 12:37 PM
strugglegenerator
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Default

I don't have duplicate file names between lua or perl scripts in the nro folder. Still can't get any perl scripts to work in the nro folder either. Issue is isolated to this zone. I even deleted the other folder north ro just to see what would happen, didn't help though.

I'll just have to settle for using lua only in the nro folder. Still works, just strange.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-25-2019, 01:18 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,657
Default

I'm not sure what's going on there...

I tested all of the perl scripts in my local quests folder and they all worked for me.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-26-2019, 04:12 PM
jsr
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 167
Default

There's nothing in #questerrors ?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2019, 07:39 AM
strugglegenerator
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 61
Default

Nothing in #questerrors
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2019, 11:33 AM
jsr
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: melbourne
Posts: 167
Default

Seems pretty strange, but there are no true mysteries when it comes to bugs.

I'd remove every script from the zone, setup a global player.pl with a very simple event_say, that works in other zones. If that script doesn't work, and there are no resulting #questerrors, you'd probably need to use a debugger.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3