Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2017, 01:21 PM
Toony's Avatar
Toony
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 85
Default Disallow character creation with same name as existing bot

I've had a user create a character with the same name as a previous users bot, no big deal apparently until they both entered the same zone, this caused them both to crash.

I'm pretty sure multiple bots can't have the same names already, but it seems like character creation doesn't check against existing bot names, any known fixes either direct or workarounds?

--edit-- turns out this seems to have actually caused zone.exe to crash as well

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2017, 03:56 PM
FievelMousey
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 140
Default

This been a bad issue for ages wow and it yet not fixed
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2018, 08:32 PM
irongut_av's Avatar
irongut_av
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 20
Default

I use an event (in HeidiSQL, right click your eqemu database, select Create New->Event). It runs every 4 hours in MySQL, which appends a value onto a bot name if that name exists on the character_data table. This would probably work better as a trigger for the character_data table, but I've got no experience working with those.


Code:
BEGIN
	update bot_data 
		inner join character_data on bot_data.name = character_data.name
		set bot_data.name = CONCAT(bot_data.name, "A");
END
I also had to enable the global event scheduler in MySQL using root:

Code:
SET GLOBAL event_scheduler = ON;

Make sure you set a start time and don't have it expire, so it runs each time period you choose. This isn't a perfect fix, but will rename bots in the DB.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-2018, 09:32 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

I was on sabbatical when this thread was started...

I'll add it to my list.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2018, 09:49 AM
Huppy's Avatar
Huppy
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,333
Default

I remember this issue from long before this thread, but I suppose a permanent fix would involve two sides to it.

Bot existing on new character creation, or character existing on new ^botcreate. Name not available either way ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-20-2018, 06:48 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

Pretty much

I'll have to make a script to fix issues as well..a one-time pass with a client bias.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3