Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2019, 01:17 AM
fourier
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 35
Default Quest scripts (lua,pl) no longer being interpreted

I feel kind of silly that I haven't tracked down the cause of this issue yet, but for some reason my quest scripts no longer seem to have their logic interpreted via embperl or lua supporting classes. I am fairly familiar with the eqemu code base but the quest parser stuff is not something I've had a chance to dig into much.

I'm using the Latest (or recent) eqemu code base w/Quests from peqtgc github repo. Config of the eqemu env. consisted of all standard common steps + use of the "defaults" folder files to get things started.

I enabled and added a bunch of logging (LogSys categories including Quest related categories) and it looks like the proper quest script files are being read successfully upon Zone-In. But no crash logs or crash behavior occurs. My tests are simple - generally just a 'Hail' to a NPC. I also have GM status disabled in case that might have been an issue.

Any tips for the following would be greatly appreciated:

1) What may be some of the most useful class/methods [in embparser, lua* and perl* eqemu classes] to insert diagnostic logging into? Would like to see the interpreter code in eqemu parse line by line detail success/failure/etc, rather than adding lots of logging to each quest script file
2) NPCs not responding to Hails even though they clearly should based on script logic - anyone seen this before?

Thanks
fourier
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2019, 09:56 AM
Sturm
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 116
Default

I know it's a silly question, but you're character is not invisible right? Also you need to be fairly close to NPC's like darn near hugging them for them to respond sometimes especially if you're one of the smaller races.

Sometimes it's the simplest thing.

Did you try turning it off and back on again? lol
__________________
Developer of the Imperium Server.
https://imperium-eq.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2019, 11:22 PM
fourier
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks for the suggestions, but the root cause appears to be something else entirely, which I'm still working to identify.

Additional notes/observations:
(client is RoF2)
1) questerrors command returns nothing
2) zone log indicates Perl event export settings and quests load successfully

[07-01-2019 :: 23:57:22] [Zone Server] Loading Perl Event Export Settings...
[07-01-2019 :: 23:57:22] [MySQL Query] SELECT event_id, event_description, export_qglobals, export_mob, export_zone, export_item, export_event FROM perl_event_export_settings ORDER BY event_id (84 rows returned)
[07-01-2019 :: 23:57:22] [Zone Server] Loading quests
[07-01-2019 :: 23:57:22] [Zone Server] Entering sleep mode

3) eqemu /quests folder is comprised of clone from https://github.com/ProjectEQ/projecteqquests
4) rather than cloning from the repo in (3), creation of /quests, /plugins, /lua, /lua_modules, /scripts, /shared and other defaults have been managed via eqemu_server.pl
5) verified the appropriate quest scripts for current zone are read on zone-in (quest_parser_collection, etc.)

At this point, I welcome any other suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2019, 12:08 AM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

If you're building your own binaries and are current with code and database updates..

..try downloading the unstable binaries for whichever type your running (bots or non-bots.)
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2019, 08:53 PM
fourier
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 35
Default

Here's the root cause and fix, for anyone who may be interested...

In eqemu_config.json, the directories were missing a trailing forward slash.
Incorrect:
"directories" : {
"maps" : "Maps",
"plugins" : "plugins",
"quests" : "quests"
},

Corrected:
"directories" : {
"maps" : "Maps/",
"plugins" : "plugins/",
"quests" : "quests/"
},
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2019, 09:26 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

Did you add those manually?

Or did you run the xml to json convertor?
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2019, 10:10 AM
fourier
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: MO
Posts: 35
Default

I added them manually
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3