Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::General Discussion

General::General Discussion General discussion about EverQuest(tm), EQEMu, and related topics.
Do not post support topics here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 12-13-2011, 05:53 PM
Tabasco's Avatar
Tabasco
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 270
Default

My first step will probably be to set up a cmake build option. You chose a solid set of cross-platform libraries and it looks good so far.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 12-13-2011, 08:18 PM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

Thank you. I have reduced most of the Windows specific functionality and will eliminate the rest when I get around to it. A bit of code is taken from various other projects and the way they handled fragments was a bit all over the place. Consider my work on textures in 0x03.cpp, 0x04.cpp, 0x05.cpp, 0x30.cpp and 0x31.cpp for a sample of what most of fragment handling will look like as I rewrite.

If you see any glaring errors, submit some changes and I will of course get around to reviewing them. Also, if I understand correctly you're looking to make it Linux compatible? Let me know how I go about doing this/helping to do this.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 12-14-2011, 11:58 AM
Secrets's Avatar
Secrets
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: b
Posts: 1,450
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PixelEngineer View Post
Thank you. I have reduced most of the Windows specific functionality and will eliminate the rest when I get around to it. A bit of code is taken from various other projects and the way they handled fragments was a bit all over the place. Consider my work on textures in 0x03.cpp, 0x04.cpp, 0x05.cpp, 0x30.cpp and 0x31.cpp for a sample of what most of fragment handling will look like as I rewrite.

If you see any glaring errors, submit some changes and I will of course get around to reviewing them. Also, if I understand correctly you're looking to make it Linux compatible? Let me know how I go about doing this/helping to do this.

Cheers!
This is very good! I've got a great idea for creating new content: Why not a 3DS Max exporter plugin? You could have it build WLD files from scenes, and I believe 3DS Max already supports animations. Not sure how it handles BMP files but it should be trivial.

SOE already uses 3ds max for their animation files afaik.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 12-14-2011, 08:36 PM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

As of now, the next time I have time (Friday), I will finish my rewrite of the PFS (S3D) extractor. It works fine for the most part but there are some weird issues and I think it might be related to this. Then, I will begin work on models and light and get them all working properly.

Those are just my 2 main objectives at this point but I don't have time for the next two days due to finals.

Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12-17-2011, 02:12 PM
Vampire1212
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MI
Posts: 58
Default

I'd love to help out with this client. I'd personally like to do my own revamp of the classic zones by simply change textures, lighting not the graphics themselves.
__________________
[ Druzzil Ro ]
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-18-2011, 03:51 AM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampire1212 View Post
I'd love to help out with this client. I'd personally like to do my own revamp of the classic zones by simply change textures, lighting not the graphics themselves.
Explain further. I am going to be implementing per pixel lighting which utilizes normal maps. Although I can generate them automatically via software, the higher resolution the texture, the better. If you are good at designing high resolution textures, give it a try. This was actually one of my eventual ideas.

Search for textures in the .s3d archive but if high resolution textures exist in an external directory, use them instead.

I am interested to know exactly what you mean.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-19-2011, 02:42 AM
Vampire1212
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MI
Posts: 58
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PixelEngineer View Post
Explain further. I am going to be implementing per pixel lighting which utilizes normal maps. Although I can generate them automatically via software, the higher resolution the texture, the better. If you are good at designing high resolution textures, give it a try. This was actually one of my eventual ideas.

Search for textures in the .s3d archive but if high resolution textures exist in an external directory, use them instead.

I am interested to know exactly what you mean.
Hey PixelEngineer, what I mean is exactly what you said, all high-res textures that make it seem more graphical when in reality we aren't changing the graphics themselves.
__________________
[ Druzzil Ro ]
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-19-2011, 03:47 AM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vampire1212 View Post
Hey PixelEngineer, what I mean is exactly what you said, all high-res textures that make it seem more graphical when in reality we aren't changing the graphics themselves.
Go ahead and PM me. I have a few ideas you might be able to help with.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:04 AM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

Texture animation has been implemented:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XSFx...vDZfhrSHuAh39k

More progress to follow...

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:13 AM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PixelEngineer View Post
Texture animation has been implemented:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XSFx...vDZfhrSHuAh39k

More progress to follow...

Cheers!
That's pretty badass man. I give you props for all of that hard work.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 01-17-2012, 02:17 AM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akkadius View Post
That's pretty badass man. I give you props for all of that hard work.
Thank you! The real hardcore development is going to start as soon as I get everything stable. The original EverQuest developers made some very odd design choices and I have struggled to both understand and implement some of the more challenging ones. Every day I get closer to a much more solid code base and then the real fun development can begin.


Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 01-18-2012, 11:06 AM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

This rocks, I have wanted this type of thing for years. But I never had the code know how to even grasp a start. Glad to see this taking off and having community backing.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 01-18-2012, 07:13 PM
PixelEngineer
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Default

Don't sell yourself short. I see you have written some programs in C#. Syntactically, it is not that different from C++. When I started writing the client, I couldn't write it either but i slowly learned and have learned an enormous amount. The link to the source is on the last page so take a look if you're interested.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 01-18-2012, 07:58 PM
Speedz's Avatar
Speedz
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ocean Park, WA
Posts: 186
Default

Thanks for the vote of confidence I grabbed the source and now to get the time to look at it. My knowledge is pretty basic but getting better. Not too bad for no schooling or work environment in coding.
__________________
Just another face in the crowd..
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 01-19-2012, 12:36 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Do you guys mind if I move this to Dev and perhaps sticky it? (I think it's cool and has actually shown some promise)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3