Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2018, 02:33 AM
dracir
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: US
Posts: 43
Default Forums (Not a Support Forum) I'm confused??

I don't really know how to use these forums correctly, was hoping for some insight.
I am completely confused as to where I ask simple development questions.

Whats throwing me off is all the references to forums as "Not a support forum."

In my mind I see this and i think, oh i shouldn't ask technical questions here about my server. So i go down to the support forums.

Quote:
Support::General Support
Post all topics here having to do with errors while trying to connect to an EQEMu server but not about the setup/running of the Server itself.
Okay, not here either. Specifically references not posting questions about running your server, or setup things with your server.

So does this mean we use "Support::Windows Servers"? I had created a topic earlier in the General Support looking for assistance with some server modifications. It was then moved to General Discussion, which also was mentioned for being in the wrong location.

I know I am supposed to use common sense as to where i'm supposed to post, but apparently i have some elvish heritage. My 60 wisdom provides very little common sense(awkward nerd giggle).

--->I did have a question<----
Specialize XXXX: {Abjuration, Conjuration, Alteration}
[*] These skills, once hit 51, lock the others and continue. This is also true for tradeskills >200, but frack them! Their skill maximum is not changed by level.

[Q]uestion: Can I put this limitation on all skills? What variable and where is setting Specializations apart from other skills?


Thanks for the insight, and the time you spent reading this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2018, 05:31 AM
Lane
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Default

I'm fairly new to messing with my own server, but my understanding of changing skills is: you would need to manipulate the source code and also your skills file (can't remember the exact name, but it's similar to the spells.text file.) I do know that the said skills file you would need to change is not compatible with Titanium, so you would need a newer client.

The thread with all of this information is here: http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/sho...t=34098&page=2

The topic of the thread is adding skills to classes that normally wouldn't have it. I believe they add track to warrior/sk for instance. I'd assume the same would apply to limiting skills.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2018, 12:59 PM
caravellex
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 63
Default

This is it, you could paste this into maxskill.h and change te skills and value
keep the sntax but replace the skill name, you can also edit thr values of 50 to make the cap a different level

Code:
//make sure only 1 skill can be over 50
							uint16 hskill = 0;
							uint16 high = 0;
							uint16 cur;
							cur = GetSkill(SPECIALIZE_ABJURE);
							if (cur > high) {
								hskill = SPECIALIZE_ABJURE;
								high = cur;
							}
							cur = GetSkill(SPECIALIZE_ALTERATION);
							if (cur > high) {
								hskill = SPECIALIZE_ALTERATION;
								high = cur;
							}
							cur = GetSkill(SPECIALIZE_CONJURATION);
							if (cur > high) {
								hskill = SPECIALIZE_CONJURATION;
								high = cur;
							}
							cur = GetSkill(SPECIALIZE_DIVINATION);
							if (cur > high) {
								hskill = SPECIALIZE_DIVINATION;
								high = cur;
							}
							cur = GetSkill(SPECIALIZE_EVOCATION);
							if (cur > high) {
								hskill = SPECIALIZE_EVOCATION;
								high = cur;
							}
							if (high > 50 && hskill != skillid) {
								r_value = 50;
								break;
							}
							if (r_value > 200) {
								r_value = 200;
							}
							break;
						}
					default: {
							r_value = 0;
							break;
						}
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2018, 03:40 PM
caravellex
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 63
Default

this might be how it would look? but paste this into line 121 when viewing in visual studio. This example is for melee skills

Code:
					case BERSERKER:
					case WARRIOR:
					case MONK:
					case ROGUE:
					case RANGER:
					case PALADIN:
					case SHADOWKNIGHT:
					case BEASTMASTER: {
						uint16 hskill = 0;
						uint16 high = 0;
						uint16 cur;
						cur = GetSkill(PIERCING);
						if (cur > high) {
							hskill = PIERCING;
							high = cur;
						}
						cur = GetSkill(_2H_SLASHING);
						if (cur > high) {
							hskill = _2H_SLASHING;
							high = cur;
						}
						cur = GetSkill(_2H_BLUNT);
						if (cur > high) {
							hskill = _2H_BLUNT;
							high = cur;
						}
						cur = GetSkill(_1H_SLASHING);
						if (cur > high) {
							hskill = _1H_SLASHING;
							high = cur;
						}
						cur = GetSkill(_1H_BLUNT);
						if (cur > high) {
							hskill = _1H_BLUNT;
							high = cur;
						}
						if (high > 50 && hskill != skillid) {
							r_value = 50;
							break;
						}
						if (r_value > 250) {
							r_value = 250;
						}
						break;
						}
					default: {
						r_value = 0;
						break;
}
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2018, 02:53 AM
kokey98
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: terra firma
Posts: 131
Default

there is a server rule (table in dB) that can set max skill too. note says to not set it higher than 70 or 75? (it will stand out by note) -- not quite like Specialization but relative.

can always pop files into notepad++ and search for keywords, variables you see defined etc. even without coding experience, if you recognize an equation you can manipulate it intuitively enough.

also, i think the "not a support forum" may just mean they won't tach you how to code. cover bases against obligatory customer service.

in general, most questions get a response of some sort from what i have seen over the years. if something isn't quite kosher, i'm sure it's not a capitol offense. if it is, i say let 'them' get all in a huff and puff for nothing :p (not eqemu per se, but any similar context of stuffiness)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:47 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3