Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #316  
Old 08-26-2017, 11:01 PM
The_Beast's Avatar
The_Beast
Discordant
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Under a rock
Posts: 290
Default

Also, this type of eqemu_config.xml works good for local (same puter as client)
Edit the values in RED to whatever your user/names/passwords are.
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
	<world>
		<shortname>Server Name</shortname>
		<longname>servername</longname>

		<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to.  (read: You don't) -->
		<address>127.0.0.1</address>
		<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>

		<loginserver>
			<host>127.0.0.1</host>
			<port>5998</port>
			<account></account>
			<password></password>
		</loginserver>

		<!-- Server status.  Default is unlocked -->
		<!--<locked/>-->
		<!-- <unlocked/> -->

		<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections.  Both zones and console (if enabled).  Defaults are shown -->
		<tcp ip="127.0.0.1" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

		<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
		<key>somerandomstringofcharacters</key>

		<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service.  Defaults are shown -->
		<http port="9080" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" />
	</world>

	<!-- Chatserver (channels) information.  Defaults shown -->
	<chatserver>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>7778</port>
	</chatserver>

	<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information.  Defaults shown -->
	<mailserver>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>7778</port>
	</mailserver>

	<zones>
		<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>

		<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
		<ports low="7100" high="7500"/>
	</zones>

	<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini.  Defaults shown -->
	<database>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>3306</port>
		<username>user</username>
		<password>pass</password>
		<db>peq</db>
	</database>

	<qsdatabase>
		<host>127.0.0.1</host>
		<port>3306</port>
		<username>user</username>
		<password>pass</password>
		<db>peq</db>
	</qsdatabase>

	<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
	<launcher>
		<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
		<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
		<!-- <exe>zone.exe or ./zone</exe> -->
		<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000"> -->
	</launcher>

	<!-- File locations.  Defaults shown -->
	<files>
		<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
		<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
		<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
		<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
	</files>
	<!-- Directory locations.  Defaults shown -->
	<directories>
		<maps>maps/</maps>
		<quests>quests/</quests>
		<plugins>plugins/</plugins>
		<lua_modules>lua_modules/</lua_modules>
		<patches>./</patches>
		<shared_memory>shared/</shared_memory>
		<logs>logs/</logs>
	</directories>
</server>
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 08-29-2017, 09:34 PM
marianoryu
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 17
Default

I have two further questions:

1- When opening t_start_with_login_server, I get the following.



Is this meant to happen or am I doing something wrong?

2 - The second has to do with not being able to create or login with any name or password I input in the launcher (I'm trying to set this up in a local LAN). How do I get past that?
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 08-29-2017, 11:55 PM
jia_jacky's Avatar
jia_jacky
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 37
Default

I think records of tblWorldServerRegistration table in your database are not consistent with your eqemu_config.xml.
But it shouldn't affect playing. You can still login and play, can't you?
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 08-30-2017, 07:06 AM
marianoryu
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jia_jacky View Post
I think records of tblWorldServerRegistration table in your database are not consistent with your eqemu_config.xml.
But it shouldn't affect playing. You can still login and play, can't you?
I have tried using the account name and password I have created here, but it tells me it doesn't exist in the database; which leads me to ask how I get past that.
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 09-06-2017, 11:15 PM
jedder1977
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Default Problems after install

Hello,

I am curious if anyone else has noticed this problem after using this installer.

If I try to use any warrior discs like Defensive etc, I get an error that I am too distracted to use a skill. After receiving that error I can no longer click anything or attack anything as it just says I am too distracted. I have been running for almost a year and it is a recent development without any changes to the server.

Using Windows 2012 R2 as server
Using SOD Client.
Reply With Quote
  #321  
Old 09-08-2017, 08:38 AM
jedder1977
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Just as an update, I did a completely fresh install with the newest package on a new VM and it is doing the same thing. Warrior discs don't seem to work.
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 09-08-2017, 10:49 AM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedder1977 View Post
Just as an update, I did a completely fresh install with the newest package on a new VM and it is doing the same thing. Warrior discs don't seem to work.
Issue a binary update, and let me know what you find

Single command

Code:
perl eqemu_server.pl windows_server_latest
Interactive mode

Code:
C:\EQEmu\servers\peq_server>perl eqemu_server.pl

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
>>> EQEmu Server Main Menu >>>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

 [database]     Enter database management menu
 [assets]       Manage server assets
 [new_server]   New folder EQEmu/PEQ install - Assumes MySQL/Perl installed
 [setup_bots]   Enables bots on server - builds code and database requirements

 exit

Enter a command #> assets

>>> Server Assets Menu

 [maps]                 Download latest maps
 [opcodes]              Download opcodes (Patches for eq clients)
 [quests]               Download latest quests
 [plugins]              Download latest plugins
 [lua_modules]          Download latest lua_modules
 [utility_scripts]      Download utility scripts to run and operate the EQEmu Server
>>> Windows
 [windows_server_download]      Updates server via latest 'stable' code
 [windows_server_latest]        Updates server via latest commit 'unstable'
 [windows_server_download_bots] Updates server (bots) from latest 'stable'
 [fetch_dlls]                   Grabs dll's needed to run windows binaries
 [setup_loginserver]            Sets up loginserver for Windows

> main - go back to main menu
Enter a command #> windows_server_latest
[Update] Fetching Latest Windows Binaries (unstable) from Appveyor...
[Copy] folder doesn't exist, creating 'updates_staged/'
[Download] Saved: (updates_staged/master_windows_build_pdb.zip) from https://ci.appveyor.com/api/projects/KimLS/server/artifacts/build_x86_pdb.zip
[Download] Saved: (updates_staged/master_windows_build.zip) from https://ci.appveyor.com/api/projects/KimLS/server/artifacts/build_x86.zip
[Update] Fetched Latest Windows Binaries (unstable) from Appveyor...
[Update] Extracting... ---
[Unzip] Extracting...
[Unzip] Extracting...
[Update] Installing :: eqlaunch.exe
[Update] Installing :: eqlaunch.pdb
[Update] Installing :: export_client_files.exe
[Update] Installing :: export_client_files.pdb
[Update] Installing :: import_client_files.exe
[Update] Installing :: import_client_files.pdb
[Update] Installing :: loginserver.exe
[Update] Installing :: loginserver.pdb
[Update] Installing :: queryserv.exe
[Update] Installing :: queryserv.pdb
[Update] Installing :: shared_memory.exe
[Update] Installing :: shared_memory.pdb
[Update] Installing :: tests.exe
[Update] Installing :: tests.pdb
[Update] Installing :: ucs.exe
[Update] Installing :: ucs.pdb
[Update] Installing :: world.exe
[Update] Installing :: world.pdb
[Update] Installing :: zone.exe
[Update] Installing :: zone.pdb
[Update] Done
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 09-08-2017, 10:59 AM
jedder1977
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry, I should have stated that. I tried the most updated(unstable) version as well in testing. Same result.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:02 AM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedder1977 View Post
Sorry, I should have stated that. I tried the most updated(unstable) version as well in testing. Same result.
My next thing for you to try would be exporting client data from the server so that your spells line up with what the server has in its database.

These errors your getting could be client sided

Copy the files generated in export into your client directory and get back to me

Code:
C:\EQEmu\servers\peq_server>mkdir export

C:\EQEmu\servers\peq_server>export_client_files.exe
[Status] Exporting Spells...
[Status] Exporting Skill Caps...
[Status] Exporting Base Data...
[Status] Exporting DB Strings...

C:\EQEmu\servers\peq_server>dir export
 Volume in drive C has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 3A3D-1AE4

 Directory of C:\EQEmu\servers\peq_server\export

09/08/2017  10:01 AM    <DIR>          .
09/08/2017  10:01 AM    <DIR>          ..
09/08/2017  10:01 AM            51,971 BaseData.txt
09/08/2017  10:01 AM                25 dbstr_us.txt
09/08/2017  10:01 AM           901,425 SkillCaps.txt
09/08/2017  10:01 AM        28,551,278 spells_us.txt
               4 File(s)     29,504,699 bytes
               2 Dir(s)  153,949,364,224 bytes free
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:11 AM
jedder1977
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Default

Generated files, copied to SOD client folder, overwrote files, same result:(
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:13 AM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jedder1977 View Post
Generated files, copied to SOD client folder, overwrote files, same result:(
Next thing is - updating your client - SoD is way too old, I would recommend getting RoF2

Older clients are hard-coded to only read up to so many Spell ID's - they're also not going to understand how to handle newer spell data
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:14 AM
jedder1977
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 5
Default

*sigh* it actually doesn't work on PEQ with my client. I just tested. Has anything changed in the past year that would cause it to no longer work with the SOD client?

The reason I haven't upgraded is because all of my macros are made for SOD and it would take a lot of work to change them. I box 40+ characters.
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 09-08-2017, 11:15 AM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Hmm - let me think of some other things, I am fighting some fires at work atm so it will have to be a bit.

Also - the installer uses the same DB as PEQ, so something else has to be going on
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 09-09-2017, 09:38 AM
marianoryu
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marianoryu View Post
I have tried using the account name and password I have created here, but it tells me it doesn't exist in the database; which leads me to ask how I get past that.
I am still stumped in this - any help will be most welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 09-09-2017, 02:44 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by marianoryu View Post
I am still stumped in this - any help will be most welcome.
Stumped by what - there's not a whole lot of information here

Shoot me some more information and I can try to help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:37 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3