Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::General Support

Support::General Support Post all topics here having to do with errors while trying to connect to an EQEMu server but not about the setup/running of the Server itself.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2018, 07:51 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default EOC not working?

Does EOC still work with the new servers? I followed the steps in the wiki, set up my user in mysql but it will not let me connect. Ports are open for 3306 , my outside ip is inputed, database name, username, and pw ... says
Cannot connect to server!
Cannot connect to database peq
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2018, 09:01 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,895
Default

It's working just fine, make sure to follow this guide:

http://wiki.eqemulator.org/p?EQEmu_O...-database-user
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2018, 08:56 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default

I did follow it exactly and thats issue i got
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2018, 09:01 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default

well it verified connection but does nothing when i click the login button
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2018, 02:01 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default

I got it to work on an outside connection but if I use a pc on the same network it will not connect. How do I fix that ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2018, 02:26 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ionhsmith View Post
I got it to work on an outside connection but if I use a pc on the same network it will not connect. How do I fix that ?
Is the account you are trying to use for the database login granted permissions from that host?

Are you trying to resolve an external ip/port locally? need moar detail kiddo.
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-14-2018, 04:35 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default

Not really sure what you asking.... I followed the guide on how to create the user and everything for EOC. I log onto in via my main pc at home and it will not let me connect. I take my laptop over to my dads house and it lets me connect just fine from his network. so for some reason I cannot connect from inside the same network the server is on
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-14-2018, 07:24 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ionhsmith View Post
Not really sure what you asking.... I followed the guide on how to create the user and everything for EOC. I log onto in via my main pc at home and it will not let me connect. I take my laptop over to my dads house and it lets me connect just fine from his network. so for some reason I cannot connect from inside the same network the server is on
What IP address are you trying to connect to for EOC on your local network?
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2018, 07:18 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default

my outside ip address
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-16-2018, 02:12 PM
kalarcana
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Alaska
Posts: 2
Default

I'm having the same problem as ionhsmith. I've done 9 fresh installs in the past 2 days. Yes, that does mean on a fresh VM install each time. I can get my server up and running. I can set up GM accounts and play. I can even access the database via HeidiSQL. I've used Navicat and created a new user login. I simply can't get EOC to work. I keep getting the same error messages.

Cannot connect to server!
Cannot connect to database peq

I can't get it to work with either an inside or outside connection. I can't figure it out even though I've followed the instructions exactly. It's very irritating.


Rick
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-16-2018, 04:44 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,008
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ionhsmith View Post
my outside ip address
You cannot resolve an external IP Address internally.

PM me (both of you) and I'll see if I can resolve it.

Works perfectly fine for me.

__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-16-2018, 08:54 PM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maze_EQ View Post
You cannot resolve an external IP Address internally.
Probably better to say that "most" routers don't allow loopback inherently.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-17-2018, 08:37 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,895
Default

If you ran your user creation with the DNS name - some folks have been issues with that. So you may want to try re-creating the EOC user using the IP instructed in the Wiki guide
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-19-2018, 09:05 PM
ionhsmith
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 278
Default

i Can connect outside my network but not on any pc inside... do i have to create a user that allows network ips to connect ?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-20-2018, 12:17 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,008
Default

Code:
CREATE USER 'myuser'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'mypass';
CREATE USER 'myuser'@'%' IDENTIFIED BY 'mypass';
Then

Code:
GRANT ALL ON *.* TO 'myuser'@'localhost';
GRANT ALL ON *.* TO 'myuser'@'%';
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:31 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3