Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 11-05-2017, 08:18 PM
WarAngel's Avatar
WarAngel
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 35
Default

"Fish walking underwater"...hey, why this legged creature get to swim? And we are stuck down here? Lets run up and attack before it gets out of the water......

OOooh VERY interested in fly modes...

I understand if this is low priority by the way, just want to again say thank you for looking into this. This at least this thread is letting me know that I am not alone. CHEERS!!

-Eric
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-05-2017, 08:44 PM
demonstar55
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Movement View Post
So RoF2 nuked the walking sounds. (As Uleat stated above) Interesting.
Not even close. Uleat said we do stuff wrong. Which we do.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-05-2017, 09:23 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,687
Default

I got lucky..I found this line and got suspicious https://github.com/EQEmu/Server/blob.../mob.cpp#L1170
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-06-2017, 11:57 AM
demonstar55
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,117
Default

They did flush out gravity behavior in newer clients. Anyone see if flymode 0 works fine on older clients?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-06-2017, 03:26 PM
WarAngel's Avatar
WarAngel
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonstar55 View Post
They did flush out gravity behavior in newer clients. Anyone see if flymode 0 works fine on older clients?
I logged into my personal server...

-SoF : Flymode 0, 1, 2 worked as intended
-Titanium : Flymode 0, 1, 2 worked as intended
-RoF2 : Flymode 0, 1, 2 Worked as intended

Thank god for GM mode....dropping hurts!!
-Eric
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-06-2017, 03:31 PM
demonstar55
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WarAngel View Post
I logged into my personal server...

-SoF : Flymode 0, 1, 2 worked as intended
-Titanium : Flymode 0, 1, 2 worked as intended
-RoF2 : Flymode 0, 1, 2 Worked as intended

Thank god for GM mode....dropping hurts!!
-Eric
I meant for mobs :P

It looks like we need to actually manage flymode manually in code now. We can always translate older clients to the right thing if we need to.

RoF/RoF2 does have higher fly modes (I linked the enum earlier) and you can change NPC's flymode on the fly with OP_SpawnAppearance (although, I'll need to verify that in older clients)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-06-2017, 07:02 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,687
Default

I just got in..booting up my server now.


EDIT: Just tested Ti and SoF and both play walking sounds with FlyMode0.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty

Last edited by Uleat; 11-06-2017 at 07:15 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-06-2017, 09:36 PM
WarAngel's Avatar
WarAngel
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demonstar55 View Post
I meant for mobs :P

It looks like we need to actually manage flymode manually in code now. We can always translate older clients to the right thing if we need to.

RoF/RoF2 does have higher fly modes (I linked the enum earlier) and you can change NPC's flymode on the fly with OP_SpawnAppearance (although, I'll need to verify that in older clients)
Right!! I was just uh, testing you, that's it...yeah testing you. Passed!!

I will go back to drawing charcoal on walls...

-Eric
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-25-2018, 12:13 AM
WarAngel's Avatar
WarAngel
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 35
Default

I am curious if the Dev community has invested any brain bits into this issue (no walking sounds). I do understand that this is such a small cosmetic issue, so please do not feel that I am making demands. I did lurk in GitHub at the changelog, even though it makes no sense to look there. I just have no clue where to look to see if this was put on a "todo" list. If this issue is in a "todo" list, that is all I can ask for and I am happy with that knowledge. You dev folks are heroes in my eyes, I cannot say enough how happy I am to be playing EQEmu. I hope to keep playing 20 years or more from now.

P.S. By the way... the wife, after seeing me tamper with the database and playing the game for the past two years, said I should go to school and learn database and do that as a post retirement part time job. I felt stupid for not realizing that I enjoy the database aspect of computing. So, off to school!! And it is completely due to the EQEmu Developers and what they have done. Been so frustrated figuring out what I wanted to do for a second career. Cheers!!

-Eric
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-12-2019, 03:55 PM
WarAngel's Avatar
WarAngel
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Washington State
Posts: 35
Default

Been meaning to post this for a long time for anyone who plays EQ solo and runs their own server...

Until the Dev Gods get time to look into the "Flymode 0" and missing walking sounds, I have a interesting workaround. Make a "cons" and an "attack" macro (or any other of course) that includes "Flymode 0" in one of the lines. If you desire to hear the walking sounds like myself, this way at least you get to hear them running after you or walking by as you "con" them. Remember though that this is temporary. As the Flymode is hard coded, and any changes you make will reset when the server resets.
My inexperienced ideas on future fixes would be to add a database int in the NPC_Types that allows folks like me to customize the Flymode. Or maybe the Spawngroups having a int. That way every time the Mob spawns the program would change the Flymode to your desired int.
In the mean time, my goofy workaround gets us halfway there. Love the MACROS!! Hope Ye'all are doing good and CHEERS!!

P.S. Of course this is for us solo players with the appropriate GM status. I just make allow all my toons use GM abilities in order to fix things as I play.

-War
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
effect, npc, sound, stepping, walking

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:51 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3