Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::Server Discussion

General::Server Discussion Discussion about emulator servers.
Do not post support topics here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 07-16-2017, 12:54 PM
Fridgecritter
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 170
Default Down time

Yeah at least a day for down time. Sorry. There were so many issues and lag (hosted on a dedicated server so shouldn't be lagging) that I have to install the new server binaries. The bots will still be restricted, the augs will still come back, but in order to bring in the Lost world quests, the epic quest guy will be gone (epics weren't worth doing because you could put augs in a rusty dagger and make it 150 dmg) but I will replace those with some custom weapon quests, including some weapons that will make casters a little more balanced.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-16-2017, 12:58 PM
mjbcb0717's Avatar
mjbcb0717
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 133
Default

Right on better to have it right then a mess
__________________
DIEING Is the easy part....living is a real BITCH
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-16-2017, 07:50 PM
Fridgecritter
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 170
Default

Just ordered a used server from Amazon. My cable internet connection is more than enough to host this server, and for the price of one month's rent from godaddy I got a nice 8 cores server with 16 gigs of ram and 6 hdd bays. The dedicated server had 4gb of ram and a dual core processor.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-17-2017, 12:54 PM
kokey98
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: terra firma
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fridgecritter View Post
OK so the server binaries are way too old, and the database still has blobs in it, other issues as well. Pathing, NPC creation, all kinds of things are super bugged. I will be using Akka's installer to make a new install and I'm just gonna have to plug in the augments and add new augment slots all over again. But I'm gonna make the augments so you don't need a custom spell file. Progression requirements will go out the window, and peqzone will open. The quests from Lost World will have to be recreated. Lots of work to do. Unfortunately, that means a database wipe. Too many tables and fields to be updated to do them manually. It would take me a month.
you can export the entries that are edited and keepers then re-import when done -- if an easy way filter for them you don't even need to know the sql - context menus in mariadb can do it :p

similar experience - any edit i do to my database, i keep a duplicate of all the ocmmands run etc... all local changes are easily re-implemented if i screw up the db,which happens alot, since i am re-learning sql 20+ years later. i do have a archive dbackup, but i never remember what i did last ... i guess a lilttle corresponding local-changelog would be nice for reference, too.

(vnedors, changes to items anythign i edit - even with an archive, it's still backedup as the individual sql commands and tables of info to update default db etc -- especially the rule set -- i keep that a backup of it's own at all times.)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 07-17-2017, 05:25 PM
mjbcb0717's Avatar
mjbcb0717
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 133
Default

ETA on server now?
__________________
DIEING Is the easy part....living is a real BITCH
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 07-18-2017, 11:10 PM
Burningsoul
Discordant
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 306
Default

Fridge, hope all is going well. Sorry to see the situation with the server. If/when you get it back we'll be here waiting. In the short time it was up I binged pretty hard on it and I can't say I do that much anymore - for that you have my thanks. If I can be of (admittedly little) assistance don't hesitate to drop a line, even if it's just to shoot the shit about old LW mechanics or something.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 07-19-2017, 12:21 AM
Fridgecritter
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 170
Default

I am bringing the server up from time to time just to test things I change. I've got the bots quest working thanks to some folks here, where you start with not being able to summon any bots. I've got a couple NPCs from LW in PoK now and they are working. I've emailed the old GMs that were on LW and asked for help with the tedious job of spawning all the NPCs and changing the DB item numbers since I'm using the newest peq database now, and successfully imported the Puny Earthlings augments and proof items for bots quest, etc...

Honestly I think the only thing I will keep from Puny Eathlings is the augments and augment combine NPC, as well as the bots limitation/quest. I've added peqzone (because on LW the zone command was abused) and I'm going to allow MQ2. The fun part for me will be adding on Arioch, Jabberwocky, epics and the other LW quests that I loved. The four different colored dragons, each dropping a different material armor, etc...

It's going to be an up hill battle, and it's probably going to take a month or so to get it all done right with Magelo, a forum and regular updates. Stay tuned.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3