Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Tools

Development::Tools 3rd Party Tools for EQEMu (DB management tools, front ends, etc...)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2006, 07:17 AM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Post Tool: Migrate NPC's (ID, Spawn, Loot, etc). from Lucin DB to Current EQ

This is a tool I wrote that will allow you take just about everything about an NPC from the current PEQ (Lucin RC1) database and move it into the current EQ database. Basically, you give it an NPC number and it parse through the Lucin DB to get that NPC's:

- Core character information;
- Spells
- Spawning
- Loot
- Movement

The program will then create a file of insert statements that you can source into your existing eq database.

Prerequisites:
- FIRST: THIS IS TEST CODE. BACKUP YOUR EXISTING EQ DATABASE.
- This is a perl program; you need perl installed.
- You will need to source the current PEQ Lucin RC1 database into a separate database on your server; that is what this program will read.

Installing it:
- Make sure you
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2006, 09:37 AM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Hold off on this - I've had a couple of people point some things out; I'll patch and re-release.
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2006, 11:01 AM
Zengez
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

possibly a silly question but... does it work in reverse? (i.e. take mob info from eq DB and insert it into PEQ db?)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2006, 11:06 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zengez
possibly a silly question but... does it work in reverse? (i.e. take mob info from eq DB and insert it into PEQ db?)
I don't see why not , just so long as the Databases you use , have all the updates to what ever version EQEMU he's using.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2006, 02:45 PM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Found out my key problem is that the records you pull from the PEQ Lucin database sometimes steps on key fields in the exising Cavedude's database, so you can't just take one and move it over. I'm trying to work through how to do that key field adjustment in a systematic fashion.
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:15 PM
mattmeck
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

moved to correct forum
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:40 PM
Zengez
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Default

I just recently successfully added all the spawns from cavedude's database into PEQ's.... i took all teh differing id's multiplied all the unique id's by 1000 (except spawngroupid which i did 100 for lack of character space) and pulled them over, no overlaps, no problems sourced in perfect first try.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2006, 03:47 PM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Sent you a couple of PM's about that - shoot me a note in email or I'm zephyr325@hotmail.com on msn chat.
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2006, 04:18 AM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

I've put the tool back up at the link above. It is working fine.

The issue this script doesn't handle is sourcing records from PEQ to EQ (Cavedude) where there is a key field already in use. It assumes those records will work correctly based off of the id's that are in PEQ. It looks like a lot of the later zone's NPC's will work fine as there isn't a crosseover between those two. It can also be useful if you just want to pull specific items from one to the other format as there are a few slight differences in the npc_types table between the two databases.

I'm still going to work on a programmatic way to adjust the key field's ids, hopefully in a way that will allow future PEQ updates past lucin to come in cleanly. Its also going to handle some of the other differences (i.e., spell tables are different, etc.).
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2006, 05:38 AM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Updated to version 0.2.2 - insert statements now have the field id names in them, so you can pull from peq and insert into cavedude, or vice versa.

Still working on the changing key field id's.
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:00 AM
sdabbs65
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 818
Default ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by zephyr325
Updated to version 0.2.2 - insert statements now have the field id names in them, so you can pull from peq and insert into cavedude, or vice versa.

Still working on the changing key field id's.
Don't know if you know or not but your passwords are in there.
it works great good job.
__________________
hosting Eqemu/Runuo/wow Emulators.

www.cheaterz.info
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:39 AM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Hmmm...doesn't now, might have been out there for a second. I'll change then post in the future. =)
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:14 AM
sdabbs65
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 818
Default char move

If it was possable to add a wildcard feature such as npc's 1 thu 10000 it would make it a lot easier,theres about 3k in npc's in my old database.
__________________
hosting Eqemu/Runuo/wow Emulators.

www.cheaterz.info
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-16-2006, 02:00 AM
zephyr325
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

I'm working on that...

But in the interim, I wrote another script that will compare the differences between two databases (it looks at one field in one table in both of them) and prints out the differences. Pipe that to a file, then run a shell/batch script that will call this script for each of those numbers.

That comparison script is posted here:

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=21258
__________________
"Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy, and don't take crap from anybody."
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:41 PM
GeorgeS
Forum Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,475
Default

Thanks for writing this, as it's a tool we've been wanting!

GeorgeS
__________________
Your source for EQ database tools
Toolshop is open for business


http://www.georgestools.chrsschb.com//
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3