Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::News

General::News EQemu news posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2017, 01:06 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 1,842
Default Netcode Update

All,

Just wanted to make a quick update regarding the latest massive change to the Emulator source. Thanks Mackal/demonstar for making the original post to let users know.

KLS has spent close to a year working on a massive revamp of the EQEmu base netcode. After a recent onslaught of testing and ironing out some of the latest issues, it's been stable on PEQ for several days. It has been merged into the master EQEmu branch as of a few nights ago.

This netcode overhaul includes much cleaner and manageable code, many optimizations, far more robust, leaner (takes far less CPU) and has been needed for a long time.

In the changelog there are a few notable changes that you will need to make in your environment if you choose to make this update.

In your eqemu_config.xml you will need to make some changes. To connect to a Loginserver using older netcode such as the EQEmu Loginserver, you will need to add a 'Legacy' XML tag:



If you use the telnet server embedded in the World server, you will need to make the following adjustments to your world config:



These defaults have also been changed in the 'Akka Installer', you can see them here:

https://github.com/Akkadius/EQEmuIns...c19bd7124ca738

For more information, see the changelog:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/EQ.../changelog.txt

If you have any questions, you can post them in this thread, otherwise please give a huge thanks to KLS for putting in the time for this!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-06-2017, 06:31 PM
Thalix
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 18
Default

You need to add the following to make the private loginserver working. Otherwise it defaults to "1".



See here:
http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/sho...14&postcount=7

P.S. @Admins the CODE-Tag is not working here, please have a look:
Code:
0
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2017, 11:20 PM
onionknight87
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Exclamation Help

I am not the most computer literate individual, but i love my eq and have been playing since '99 and been on tgc since...sleepers was open? anyways i currently have the killians version which i think is platinum? either way i cannot find the file i need to change (since i can get to the server screen but cant get to my character screen im assuming its because i need to make this change)

someone please give me an ELI5 on how to locate this file or if it has a different name on my version or whatever.

thank you and i apologize if this seems like a dumb question. peq'ers tend to be highly computer literate and i know i am kind of a black sheep in this regard so i appreciate anyone taking time out of their day to answer my (probably) stupid question

EDIT - okay, looks like the problem fixed itself so i can log on but it would be nice for future reference to know how to make the change just in case

Last edited by onionknight87; 08-15-2017 at 07:30 PM.. Reason: solved
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2017, 06:34 AM
Toony's Avatar
Toony
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 69
Default

Thanks KLS!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3