Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:29 AM
ajb20
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 106
Default Making NPC Scribe Spells

If someone could help please it would be greatly appreciated. I know it is out there I have played on 2 servers where the spell scriber worked and I would appreciate it very much if someone out there would be willing to share their knowledge with the rest of us. I know it requires some editing of the c++ scripts so if anyone could please pass on a how-to and what-to-do for editing the script to include the spellscribing ability in quests that would be perfect.

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:33 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

you didn't even look for an answer did you.

there's a post on the first page of this forum called "scribespells"...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:37 AM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

I have yet to ever get my spellscriber to work, I even got a word for word script from Cofruben for it and it still don't work :/ She responds to hails and such, just don't scribe the spells.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:43 AM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

=(

never tried it myself. ill give it a shot later tonight and see what happens
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2004, 06:56 AM
hypershadow66
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 335
Default

i have mine working heres the code if you want it


Code:
sub EVENT_SAY  
{  
if ($text=~/hail/i) { quest::say("Would you like ALL of your spells [scribe]d?"); } 
if ($text=~/scribe/i) { quest::scribespells(65); }  
}
and if you dont want it, then forget what i just posted =P

EDIT
Oh and be shore not to make the NPC's Name have Scribe in it
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2004, 07:00 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hypershadow66
i have mine working heres the code if you want it


Code:
sub EVENT_SAY  
{  
if ($text=~/hail/i) { quest::say("Would you like ALL of your spells [scribe]d?"); } 
if ($text=~/scribe/i) { quest::scribespells(65); }  
}
and if you dont want it, then forget what i just posted =P

EDIT
Oh and be shore not to make the NPC's Name have Scribe in it
I believe the syntax is,
Code:
if($text=~/scribe/i){quest::scribespells();}
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2004, 07:31 AM
hypershadow66
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 335
Default

My guy didnt work when i had it like yours, cripp told me to change it to what i have now and now it works.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2004, 07:55 AM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Yeah you have to have a level value within quest::scribespells()
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:16 PM
ajb20
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 106
Default

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if ($text=~ /Hail/i){quest::say("I am... Oh that's not important right now, would you care to have your spells [scribed]?");}
if ($text=~ /scribed/i){quest::scribespells($ulevel);}
}

and it does not work, does it have to be a level value? I know i've seen it work where it only scribes up to user level...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:30 PM
Cripp's Avatar
Cripp
Discordant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: The Shire
Posts: 474
Default

Code:
sub EVENT_SAY 
{ 
if ($text=~/Hail/i) { quest::say("I am... Oh that's not important right now, would you care to have your spells [scribed]?"); } 
if ($text=~/scribed/i) { quest::scribespells($ulevel); } 
}
try this.
__________________
Nug Blazers - ServerOP / founder
^^comming... later!

www.nugblazers.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3