Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Misc > Misc::Off Topic

Misc::Off Topic Want to talk about something that has nothing to do with EverQuest or the emulator? Post here.

Old 01-22-2013, 04:08 PM
Dunge0nMastr
Hill Giant

Default Need some Help with a Survey!

Hey folks. A good friend of mine is working to finish up his Masters this semester, and is working on his Thesis. He is currently studying Cyber Psychology and asked if i could help get this Survey out so he can collect data. He is focusing on a field of study that is woefully underrepresented by actual gamers, and hes hoping his work will be able to turn into something big. Please if you have a few minutes, if you could take some time and fill out this survey, here is the introductory letter from my friend.

Quote:
Hello, my name is Eric Ekman and I am a Masters of Cyberpsychology student at the Dun Laoghaire
Institute for Art, Design, and Technology. For my master’s thesis, I am exploring video game motivations
and behaviors. This study will ask you about your gaming habits and what it is about your favorite games
that you find engaging.

I myself am a lifelong and avid gamer who has been exploring video games and video game culture for
many years. When I was an undergraduate in 2006 I remember first trying to study video games in an
academic setting and was surprised at how out of touch or out of date most of the studies and reference
material was. While this has greatly improved, the academic study of video games is still a nascent
discipline. This study hopes to provide a broad perspective of video game motivations and behaviors by
not limiting respondents to particular genres or even one particular game. Hopefully, this will provide a
more complete picture of what players find engaging about the games they love.

For this study to be successful, I need responses from a sizeable and diverse group of players. Please