Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > EQEmu Operations Center

EQEmu Operations Center Web development tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-13-2019, 07:58 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 161
Unhappy Dynamic Zones Stuck in Endless Loop

So I have this problem about 2-3 times a week. I try to boot up my server and it just loops endlessly through my 100 dynamic zones. It never fully finishes and if I try to login to my server, it lets me get to character select but if I try to enter world it says "that zone is unavailable" (doesn't matter what zone).

Last time, restarting my PC 3 times fixed it. This time, I have restarted 3 times and no luck yet, so figured I would post this real quick to see if anyone has any idea why it would get stuck like this.

Yes, I use 100 dynamic zones. It also did this when it was only the default 30 dynamic zones.

No changes were made between last night and today. It just does this, 2-3 times a week, every week, randomly.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-13-2019, 11:08 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,703
Default

This will be painful...

Try manually starting (clicking) world.exe

Open a command prompt and start zone.exe

If there is a problem that zone.exe can catch, it will spew it into either the log file, console window or both.

Sometimes a problem will occur before the logging system has a chance to initiate and the only indication will be in the console window.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2019, 04:05 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 161
Default

Thank you Uleat. Here is what the log file shows:

Code:
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] CURRENT_VERSION: 1.1.3
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Mapping Incoming Opcodes
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading Variables
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading zone names
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading items
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading npc faction lists
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading loot tables
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading skill caps
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Zone Server] Loading spells
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Error] Error Loading Spells: EQEmu Exception (Shared Memory) in C:\projects\eqemu\common\memory_mapped_file.cpp at line (151): Could not map a view of the shared memory file.
[06-14-2019 :: 16:00:23] [Error] Loading spells FAILED!
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] CURRENT_VERSION: 1.1.3
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Mapping Incoming Opcodes
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading Variables
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading zone names
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading items
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading npc faction lists
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading loot tables
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading skill caps
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Zone Server] Loading spells
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Error] Error Loading Spells: EQEmu Exception (Shared Memory) in C:\projects\eqemu\common\memory_mapped_file.cpp at line (151): Could not map a view of the shared memory file.
[06-14-2019 :: 16:02:13] [Error] Loading spells FAILED!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2019, 05:07 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,025
Default

There's a startup script that normally includes running shared_memory and THEN running the launcher. When booting a server you always need to run into shared_memory otherwise you're going to run into issues like this
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2019, 05:45 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 161
Default

Thank you Akkadius. I took your suggestion and ran "shared_memory" before running "t_start_server" and it's still giving me the same issue :/ Can you think of anything else I can do to fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2019, 06:56 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,703
Default

Since this is a 'normally' working server and it experiences occasional problems...

Are you running any type of file sharing or media streaming program that is using port 3306?

You could be running into issues where the port is already taken when you're trying to start your server and shared_memory can't access the database
to create its files.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2019, 07:30 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 161
Default

Google Drive loads up when my computer starts, so I disabled that in msconfig and now my EQ server is booting up!

Hopefully this is a permanent fix. Thank you for your help Uleat!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:41 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3