Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2013, 05:15 PM
spidey1170
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default CMake error in Windows 8

Hello all,

Trying to use the new Windows Guide & I'm running into a CMake problem:

Code:
The C compiler identification is unknown
The CXX compiler identification is unknown
Looking for include file stdint.h
CMake Error at C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/CMakeCInformation.cmake:37 (get_filename_component):
  get_filename_component called with incorrect number of arguments
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:3 (PROJECT)


CMake Error: Internal CMake error, TryCompile configure of cmake failed
Looking for include file stdint.h - not found
CMake Error at C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:97 (message):
  Could NOT find ZLIB (missing: ZLIB_LIBRARY ZLIB_INCLUDE_DIR)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:291 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindZLIB.cmake:85 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:139 (FIND_PACKAGE)


Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
I've never used CMake, so I'm not familiar with this. I did take a look at the CMake config file in C:\EQ\Source and changed the ZLIB folder from a relative path to a fixed path (i.e., changed

Code:
SET(ZLIB_ROOT "${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR}/dependencies/zlib_x86")
to

Code:
SET(ZLIB_ROOT "$c:/EQ/Source/dependencies/zlib_x86")
And still received the same error. I've also uninstalled every program installed and double-checked to make sure I'm running the 32-bit versions of MySQL, Cmake, and ActivePerl; I did not have an option to get the 32-bit version of VS Express, which I've also uninstalled and reinstalled, as well.

I looked in the forums, but the only other thread I found was for a person to go to the G00GLE code area and to download and unzip the file into c:\EQ\Source\dependencies, which I have done twice.

Any help appreciated =).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2013, 05:47 PM
spidey1170
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default Still looking

Okay, I've verified that the stdint.h exists in:

Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC\include
I've also verified that cmake is looking in the correct spot for the compilers and I made sure that the zlib_x86 and mysql_x86 are not empty.

Banging my head against the wall on this one...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2013, 08:51 PM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Version of CMake?

Not all 2.8 are equal: 2.8.10 I believe is the earliest to support MSVC11.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:23 AM
spidey1170
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default

I have:

Code:
cmake-2.8.10.2-win32-x86.exe
I followed the download links from the wiki and grabbed everything the guide said a couple of times.

Thanks for replying =)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2013, 03:26 AM
Zamthos
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 284
Default

Windows 8 uses 64-bit. I compile using Release x64 and use Visual Studio 10 Win64 in CMake, thought it would be beneficial to know that Windows 8 isn't 32-bit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-24-2013, 04:10 AM
spidey1170
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default

As far as I know, my OS is 64-bit & I have several 32-bit programs installed. They installed without issue or errors.

I am running Bitdefender Antivirus, turning it off when I install these programs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-24-2013, 04:31 AM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Okay it's going to get a little scary if you don't like the command line but lets try something... You should have a program: VS2012 x86 Native Tools Command Prompt. Under Microsoft Visual Studio 2012 -> tools, not entirely sure where it is on Win8 but if you search for VS2012 it should come up.

Should open something like:

Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC>
Run the cl command with /? as an argument, eg:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC>cl /?
That should bring up a lot of info and a lot of hit enter to continue screens. As well as starting off with something like...
Code:
Microsoft (R) C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 17.00.51106.1 for x86
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
If it doesn't you need to reinstall VS.

If it's installed correctly try instead:
Code:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 11.0\VC>cmake-gui
That will launch the cmake gui with all the VC Vars set and hopefully it will be able to find it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-24-2013, 11:34 AM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zamthos View Post
Windows 8 uses 64-bit. I compile using Release x64 and use Visual Studio 10 Win64 in CMake, thought it would be beneficial to know that Windows 8 isn't 32-bit.
Your OS being 64 bit is irrelevant to whether you compile a 32 or 64 bit sever. Easily 50% of the applications on your computer are 32 bit, including visual studio itself.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2013, 10:14 PM
spidey1170
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default

@KLS

Thank you; I tried the cl /? and received the following:

Code:
Microsoft (R) C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 17.00.50727.1 for x86
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
...
I started cmake-gui from the command line and it opened. I then tried to configure again and receive the same error. I hit configure a second time and a pop-up appeared:

Code:
Error in configuration process, project files may be invalid
The second time I hit the Configure button, this is what I received in the message window:

Code:
The C compiler identification is unknown
The CXX compiler identification is unknown
CMake Error at C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:97 (message):
  Could NOT find ZLIB (missing: ZLIB_LIBRARY ZLIB_INCLUDE_DIR)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:291 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  C:/Program Files (x86)/CMake 2.8/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindZLIB.cmake:85 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  CMakeLists.txt:139 (FIND_PACKAGE)


Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
EDIT: I forgot to add that I'm very familiar with bash CL and somewhat familiar with Windows, if that helps =)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2013, 05:38 PM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

I'll be honest I don't know.

I've never really heard of such an issue, something somewhere is misconfigured is all I know as one of our team members was definitely compiling on Win8 with VC11 when i was writing the CMake files with no issue.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2013, 08:36 PM
Prolefeed
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Default

I have the same error, you saved me a lot of typing. Hopefully I can come up with something. I'll check back if anything arises.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-25-2013, 10:13 PM
sorvani
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 966
Default

I have VS Pro 2012 and run win8. I will try it out. I normally build for VS Pro 2010
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2013, 11:59 PM
Prolefeed
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Default

I fixed mine.
Same error, similar problem possibly.
(although I'm not on Windows 8 )

I run Vista and VS2012 is not supported.
I installed VS2010 and it built fine.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-28-2013, 09:56 PM
spidey1170
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Alaska
Posts: 61
Default

@Prolefeed

Thanks, I might try that out; I've since removed Windows 8 from my system & reinstalled Linux, I might think about running Windows 7 and trying to get the server up & running.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-31-2013, 07:14 PM
Maze_EQ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,106
Default

Set the paths manually.

I followed the guide, since I've never used cmake, found the same errors, can't even compile due to pthread.h, windows.h and winsock.h
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3