Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Old 06-13-2005, 05:36 PM
Polygon_Window
Fire Beetle

Default Questions about Lag, Stability and Perfomance

Hello all

Im pretty new to EQEmu. I have now my server running under Win2k and till now, it works not bad at all. Got no problems till now, just some little bugs about zoning and some other little things that disappeared after some time
My question: I use my server and client on the same pc and i get "lag" in some way. When i cast a spell or attack something, it goes around 10 seconds until i see Damage-Texts and following. I use a 800Mhz, 1GB RAM, 128MB GC and 40GB HDD. Is it cause this machine is too slow for running server and client both?
I would be very thankful if you could help/tell me, what you think about...

PW
Old 06-14-2005, 12:19 AM
Ghost Fire
Sarnak

Yep it's your speed. 800mhz is only able to run one or the other. Other wise you get your prob.... Lag :P
Old 06-14-2005, 12:54 AM
mrea
Discordant

This may be dumb to even ask.. but could a ~300Mhz computer run the server? It would only be for like me and a few friends.

Old 06-14-2005, 01:08 AM
krusher
Sarnak

Mabye with a fully optimized version of Gentoo Linux with lots of ram. Other then that you have no chance.
Old 06-14-2005, 01:19 AM
mrea
Discordant

Would it be better to run one on the same computer I'd be playing on? (2.8 Ghz, 1GB ram)

Old 06-17-2005, 04:41 PM
Sarepean
Discordant

With an AMD Athlon XP 2200, 512 MB of RAM, and a GeForce 4 128MB AGP, I can run the server with 5 zones and play on it with 3 other people with the only real problem being a slightly longer zoning time.