Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2010, 07:38 AM
kameko
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 30
Default Creating a new NPC

Hey everyone,

I'm trying to make a new npc in Halas and am having some trouble getting her to respond to hails etc.

I added her to the database, and spawn her on entering the zone.

I made a script file for her but it's not working.

Her name is Sabrina nightingale, and the script file is called Sabrina_Nightingale.pl

here it is:
Code:
## Sabrina_Nightingale.pl
##
## Buffer NPC.  This character will allow the player to get all spells scribed for the players
## current level

sub EVENT_SAY{
	my $spells = quest::saylink("spells");
	
	if($text=~/hail/i){
		plugin::Whisper("Why hello there $name!  I have heard many great things about you!  I am new in town
			and specialise in $spells.  If you're interested I can teach you what I know.");
	}
	
	if($text=~/spells/i){
		plugin::Whisper("Great...  just give me a moment to gather what spells I can for you.");
		quest::emote("flips through the pages of her spell book...");
		quest::pause(10):
		plugin::Whisper("Ok!  found all the spells I can teach you....");
		plugin::scribespells():
	}
}
Am I missing something? I thought I could just write a file with the name of the npc for it to work

Thanks for any help here

EDIT: I found the problem.... typos!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2010, 11:50 AM
Auxie
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 21
Default

note sure if it'd break the quest but should:

Code:
quest::pause(10):
be

Code:
quest::pause(10);
that's all I've got for why it wouldn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2010, 04:40 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

You said your NPC name is "Sabrina nightingale", but I assume you mean "Sabrina Nightingale" If the last name isn't capital on the NPC, but it is on the script, that will probably cause it to fail.

Also, scribespells() requires a level argument, and you have a colon there as well, so change that to this:

Code:
plugin::scribespells($ulevel);
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3