Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::General Discussion

General::General Discussion General discussion about EverQuest(tm), EQEMu, and related topics.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 12-24-2016, 03:06 AM
fzzzty
Fire Beetle

Default EQEmu, database and era pivot

Hello,

Not too long ago I started working on my own server. I got it up and running (on FreeBSD) and made a couple useful tools in the process to make getting started easier (simple "one-click" shell script to take care of everything). I was starting over a lot and this helped me immensely. During my journey I realized a few things that I use regularly in my daily life that I wish were a part of EQEmu (I'm a developer both in my 9-5 day job and moonlighting).

I haven't messed with starting up in a while so I apologize if any of these are different now.

My main frustration was that EQEmu isn't really "an app"--it's more like a combination of half a dozen things with some (ha) assembly required. I think it would benefit a lot from some standardization or streamlining.

One example is bots. Enabling bots required patches to the source, "patches" to the SQL (which may or may not work depend on other patches and versioning), config changes, and maybe changes beyond that. It would be a lot nicer if everything were simply baked in and toggled via configuration options (or modular but that's usually a lot more work).