Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2014, 04:23 AM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default Couple Bugs

Having a couple bugs with 3 quests im working on looking for a little input ive been working on them for a couple hours now and have got much closer to them working but still having trouble lol.

First - I have a basic script for a popup window for basic server info,but when you click Ok,after hailing the npc, nothing else happens. Code is

Code:
#Quest file for Mesa - Server Guide

sub EVENT_SAY{
    if($text=~/hail/i){               
        plugin::DiaWind("Hello {gold}$name~! Would you like basic {lb}server information~? [information> ");
    }
	}
    if($text=~/information/i){
        plugin::DiaWind("Make sure to check your {lb}AA's~ as some classes get freebies aswell as custom aa's. Exp is fairly fast but group exp is double! 
        Make sure your server {r}files~ [server files> are up to date. The Server {r}website~ [website> contains more information. Speak to {y}Deevan~ to proceed!");
    }
    if($text=~/server files/i){
        plugin::DiaWind(""Speak with {lb}Mahk~, He will guide you further.);
    }
    if($text=~/website/i){
        plugin::DiaWind("Our forums can be located at {g}eqanw.forumotion.com~);
    }
}
Second- Quest texts work fin but npc is not giving reward upon turn in.
Code:
#Quest file for Mesa - Apprentice Loso

sub EVENT_SAY {
  if($text=~/hail/i) {
    quest::say("Hail $class. Do you seek to earn a [bridle]");
  }
  if($text=~/bridle/i) {
    quest::say("I suspect, as most of us these days,that you are a bit low on platinum? Well no need to worry! Simply handle a...well,[situation] for me");
  }
  if($text=~/situation/i) {
    quest::say("I have a high intolerance for the Tuffien these days. If you would be willing to bring me back one of their hides I will be willing to [reward] you");
	}
if($text=~/reward/i) {
    quest::say("Bring me back any color hide and I will give you the corresponding bridle");
  }
	}

	sub EVENT_ITEM { 
	if(plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1 = 1261){ # Black Tuffien Hide
		quest::summonitem(21810); # Black Rope Bridle*
	}
  elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1267 = 1) { # White Tuffien Hide
  quest::summonitem(21805); # White Rope Bridle*
	}
	elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1266 = 1) { # Tan Tuffien Hide
  quest::summonitem(21800); # Tan Rope Bridle*
	}
	elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1264 = 1) { # Brown Tuffien Hide
  quest::summonitem(21815); # Brown Rope Bridle*
	}
	}

And last. I want this guy to send a direct download link of my server files. have the first pop up window appearing but no clue as to how to direct it to a webpage.

Code:
#Quest file for Mesa - Mahk

sub EVENT_SAY {
    if ($text=~/hail/i) {
            plugin::DiaWind("Do you wish to update your server [files] ?");
          if ($text=~/files/i) {
		  
        }
    }
}
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2014, 08:47 AM
c0ncrete's Avatar
c0ncrete
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
Default

on your second one issue, you have two instances of the EVENT_SAY subroutine. you can only have one.

example:

Code:
#Quest file for Mesa - Deevan

sub EVENT_SAY {
    if ($text=~/hail/i) {
        if ($ulevel > 34) {
            plugin::DiaWind("blah");
            quest::summonitem(); # Note to Vahl
        } else {
            plugin::DiaWind("yack");
            quest::summonitem(105611); # Charm
        }
    }
}
NOTE: now that the original post has been edited, my response no longer really applies...
__________________
I muck about @ The Forge.
say(rand 99>49?'try '.('0x'.join '',map{unpack 'H*',chr rand 256}1..2):'incoherent nonsense')while our $Noport=1;
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2014, 09:24 AM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

ignore this post
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2014, 09:45 AM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

this one too
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2014, 10:30 AM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,490
Default

i got confused by script names. In your first script you need to close quotes.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2014, 10:51 AM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joligario View Post
i got confused by script names. In your first script you need to close quotes.
What do you mean exactly?



Going to edit my posts so that all current problems are on first post to make it easier to read.
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2014, 11:30 AM
c0ncrete's Avatar
c0ncrete
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
Default

run scripts this way to check for syntax shenanigans

Code:
perl -cW path/to/script.pl
additionally...

here is the official 5.12.4 introduction.
here is a list of official, categorized 5.12.4 tutorials.
here is a list of online resources for the beginner.
__________________
I muck about @ The Forge.
say(rand 99>49?'try '.('0x'.join '',map{unpack 'H*',chr rand 256}1..2):'incoherent nonsense')while our $Noport=1;
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2014, 11:33 AM
c0ncrete's Avatar
c0ncrete
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
Default

i'd also recommend not deleting your posts with your questions, as others may run into similar issues in the future.
__________________
I muck about @ The Forge.
say(rand 99>49?'try '.('0x'.join '',map{unpack 'H*',chr rand 256}1..2):'incoherent nonsense')while our $Noport=1;
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2014, 11:48 AM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

Going to have to study that for awhile it has confused me big time lol.
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-28-2014, 03:06 PM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

Still having trouble with these 3. Nothing I seem to be doing is working. Though I have made a pretty ugly work-around for #3 using just the web address in the window,still trying to find a way to make it a hyperlink or something if possible. And #2 still wont give reward for turn in,#1 still stuck on first window lol.


Code for Pop-up with web address if anyone wants to use or modify

Code:
sub EVENT_SAY {
    if ($text=~/hail/i) {
		  plugin::DiaWind("Server files available http://google.com");
        }
    }
}
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-28-2014, 03:18 PM
c0ncrete's Avatar
c0ncrete
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
Default

after a quick glance at your (current) second issue, i see you're using incorrect syntax in your calls to plugin::check_handin().

replace all instances of = with =>
__________________
I muck about @ The Forge.
say(rand 99>49?'try '.('0x'.join '',map{unpack 'H*',chr rand 256}1..2):'incoherent nonsense')while our $Noport=1;
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-28-2014, 03:22 PM
c0ncrete's Avatar
c0ncrete
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
Default

and as for your first issue, the problem is with where your quotation marks are located in your calls to plugin::DiaWind().

this would have likely been caught by testing the script as was previously suggested

Code:
perl -cW path/to/script.pl
__________________
I muck about @ The Forge.
say(rand 99>49?'try '.('0x'.join '',map{unpack 'H*',chr rand 256}1..2):'incoherent nonsense')while our $Noport=1;
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-28-2014, 03:50 PM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ncrete View Post
after a quick glance at your (current) second issue, i see you're using incorrect syntax in your calls to plugin::check_handin().

replace all instances of = with =>
Code:
sub EVENT_ITEM { 
	if(plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1261 => 1){ # Black Tuffien Hide
		quest::summonitem(21810); # Black Rope Bridle*
	}
  elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1267 => 1) { # White Tuffien Hide
  quest::summonitem(21805); # White Rope Bridle*
	}
	elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1266 => 1) { # Tan Tuffien Hide
  quest::summonitem(21800); # Tan Rope Bridle*
	}
	elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1264 => 1) { # Brown Tuffien Hide
  quest::summonitem(21815); # Brown Rope Bridle*
	}
	}
Still not wanting to work.
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-28-2014, 04:02 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

Missing ) on the end.
Code:
sub EVENT_ITEM { 
	if(plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1261 => 1)) { # Black Tuffien Hide
		quest::summonitem(21810); # Black Rope Bridle*
	} elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1267 => 1)) { # White Tuffien Hide
		quest::summonitem(21805); # White Rope Bridle*
	} elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1266 => 1)) { # Tan Tuffien Hide
		quest::summonitem(21800); # Tan Rope Bridle*
	} elsif (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 1264 => 1)) { # Brown Tuffien Hide
		quest::summonitem(21815); # Brown Rope Bridle*
	}
}
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-28-2014, 04:18 PM
Bandor
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 209
Default

Got first problem taken care of,ty for the help code


Code:
#Quest file for Mesa - Server Guide

sub EVENT_SAY{
    if($text=~/hail/i){               
        plugin::DiaWind("Hello {gold}$name~! Would you like some basic {lb}information~ [server information>");
    }
    if($text=~/information/i){
        plugin::DiaWind("Make sure to check your {lb}AA's~ as some classes get freebies aswell as custom aa's. Exp is fairly fast but group exp is double! 
        Make sure your server {r}files~ are up to date by speaking with {g}Mahk~. The Server {lb}website~ contains more information. Speak to {y}Deevan~ to proceed! [website>");
    }
    if($text=~/website/i){
        plugin::DiaWind("Our forums can be located at {g}eqanw.forumotion.com~");
    }
}
__________________
Owner and Developer - Everquest: A New World
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3