Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Support > Archive::Tutorials/Howto's

Archive::Tutorials/Howto's Archive area for Tutorials/Howto's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2004, 05:11 AM
Ballet
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default classes/slots meaning?

there is a column called "classes"
but that is a numbers.

i know 32767 = all classes.
there's some algorithm to convert it to all, war only, caster only, bla bla bla.
but i dont know how.

so as slots.
anyone got a good algorithm willing to share?

I am writing a program to read the item db (dumpeditems.sql) and calculate the "points" based on formula for my guild looting system.

so understanding that kind of numbers meaning would help me a lot.

Thank you very much
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2004, 05:13 AM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default

The values for classes are defined in classes.h I believe, you just need to add up the values for the classes that can use it.

*Edit*
You'll see soemthing similar to this in classes.h:

Code:
#define warrior_1 1
#define monk_1 64
#define paladin_1 4
#define shadow_1 16
#define bard_1 128
#define cleric_1 2
#define necromancer_1 1024
#define ranger_1 8
#define druid_1 32
#define mage_1 4096
#define wizard_1 2048
#define enchanter_1 8192
#define rogue_1 256
#define shaman_1 512
#define beastlord_1 16384
#define call_1 32768
If you want an item to be druid/mage useable you add 32+4096 = 4128. So give the item 4128 and those two classes can use it.

Hope this helps.
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2004, 10:29 PM
Ballet
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

could i get the list of "classes" by given any of a number?
instead of giving the classes and calculate the number.

thanks for your reply tho, Monrezz~
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-23-2004, 03:06 AM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default

The list was in the quote I gave you...
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2004, 07:53 AM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

This is in the wrong forum Ballet. You should post this in 3rd party tools, if you plan on making an EQemu tool, or in developement.
__________________

Quote:
Analysis paralysis will keep you from failing, but it will also keep you from succeeding.
  • L.L. CoolJ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:43 PM
Ballet
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

oh. sorry.
could Moderator move the post to there?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-23-2004, 11:45 PM
Ballet
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monrezz
The list was in the quote I gave you...
is that the full list?
what i mean is, if the number is exact the number defined in the class.h. that's pretty straight forward to "extract" the class.

but if the number is something like 4128
how do you "calculate" it stands for druid + mage base on the information in class.h?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2004, 04:19 AM
Monrezz's Avatar
Monrezz
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: #loc
Posts: 745
Default

Do you mean how can you work out what classes can use it by working backwards (you are given a number, and you work out from that number the classes that can use it)?

If so, you work your way up the list by taking away. Take away the largest numer you can, then the next largest...etc

Eg, if you're given 4128 you take away the largest (4096) which leaves you with 32...this is a complete number so ti stops there. So Druid and Mage can use.

If the number was 17536:
17536 - 16384 (BeastLord) = 1152
1152 - 1024 (Necro) = 128
128 = (Bard).

So an item with class value of 17536 can be used by Beastlord, Necro and Bard.

As soon as you get to a complete number that you can asign to a class you stop (eg don't take away 32 from 64).
__________________

kRPG Profile
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2004, 02:49 AM
Cheerios
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9
Default

It would probably make more sense if you converted the number to binary since that's how it's being used. One class to a binary position; 1 = useable, 0 = not. 0100010010000000 in binary, for example, is the same as 17536 in decimal and it's easier to see which classes are being allowed.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3