Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:29 PM
Richardo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mattmecks Basement
Posts: 546
Default Quest Problem

Hey guys, I got a quest problem. The NPC Responds up to test3, wont work after that...

Code:
sub EVENT_SAY {
 		if($text =~/Hail/i){ quest::say("Test");}
 		if($text =~/Test/i){ quest::say("Test1");}
		if($text =~/Test1/i){ quest::say("Test2");}
		if($text =~/Test2/i){ quest::say("Test3");}
		if($text =~/Test3/i){ quest::say("Test4");
		quest::setguild (12 , 0);
		quest::surname (Test);
		quest::signal(2093);
		quest::signal(2034);
		quest::signal(2066);
		quest::echo (TestTestTest);}
			}
Heres the Signal pl for each NPC

Code:
sub EVENT_SIGNAL
{
quest::shout("TEST!");
}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:37 PM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Put quotes around your echo
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:42 PM
Richardo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mattmecks Basement
Posts: 546
Default

thanks, that fixed it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2004, 04:57 AM
Kroeg's Avatar
Kroeg
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 241
Default

Also, not sure this is giving you a problem or not, but you don't need to close every single line with a bracer.


sub EVENT_SAY {
if($text =~/Hail/i){ quest::say("Test");
if($text =~/Test/i){ quest::say("Test1");
if($text =~/Test1/i){ quest::say("Test2");
if($text =~/Test2/i){ quest::say("Test3");
if($text =~/Test3/i){ quest::say("Test4");
quest::setguild (12 , 0);
quest::surname (Test);
quest::signal(2093);
quest::signal(2034);
quest::signal(2066);
quest::echo(TestTestTest);} &lt;-- quest::echo(TestTestTest) shouldn't need quotes
}

Only the last function needs to get closed out, not every single one in between.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:22 AM
m0oni9
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 166
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kroeg
Also, not sure this is giving you a problem or not, but you don't need to close every single line with a bracer.
Every opening brace must have a closing brace.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2004, 05:25 AM
Kroeg's Avatar
Kroeg
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 241
Default

Aye, just caught that... probably because that's a sort of messy way to write a quest =]

sub EVENT_SAY {
if($text =~/Hail/i){
quest::say("Test"); }

if($text =~/Test/i){
quest::say("Test1"); }

if($text =~/Test1/i){
quest::say("Test2"); }

if($text =~/Test2/i){
quest::say("Test3"); }

if($text =~/Test3/i){
quest::say("Test4");
quest::setguild (12 , 0);
quest::surname (Test);
quest::signal(2093);
quest::signal(2034);
quest::signal(2066);
quest::echo(TestTestTest);} &lt;-- quest::echo(TestTestTest) shouldn't need quotes
}

This is how I'd typically write a quest, so it's easy to tell what is doing what. Smooshing everything in one line has always messed me up. Thanks for correcting me.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:35 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3