Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Linux Servers

Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-13-2007, 12:19 PM
Aonelyn's Avatar
Aonelyn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Felwithe
Posts: 192
Default help with libemusharemem.so (ubuntu)

when i start my world, the world works fine, but when i start zone, i get this.


Code:
[Debug] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_debug_zone.log
[Debug] [RULES__CHANGE] Resetting running rules to default values
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Loading server configuration..
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Log settings loaded from log.ini
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Connecting to MySQL...
[Status] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_zone.log
[Status] Using database 'eq' at 127.0.0.1:3306
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] CURRENT_ZONE_VERSION: EQEMu 0.7.0
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Log settings loaded from ./log.ini
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Mapping Incoming Opcodes
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Loading Variables
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Loading zone names
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Loading items
[Error] Load Shared Library 'libEMuShareMem.so' failed.  Error=libEMuShareMem.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT_ERR] Loading items FAILED!
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Failed.  But ignoring error and going on...
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Loading npc faction lists
[Error] Load Shared Library 'libEMuShareMem.so' failed.  Error=libEMuShareMem.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT_ERR] Loading npcs faction lists FAILED!


any ideas?


the file is in the folder.
__________________
lol.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-13-2007, 05:53 PM
sfisque
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 248
Default

you either need . in you LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable or the explicit path to the .so file.

== sfisque
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:54 AM
Aonelyn's Avatar
Aonelyn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Felwithe
Posts: 192
Default

well now i fixed that problem, and now when i start zone, it just stops when loading npc factions, then times out. any ideas?
__________________
lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:27 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

Yea, that's because you probably used the latest executables that require you run a line to your MySql Database.
Always read the logs that are posted with the executable/source and do what it says for you to do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:35 PM
Aonelyn's Avatar
Aonelyn
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Felwithe
Posts: 192
Default

thanks angelox, it works now =]
__________________
lol.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-19-2007, 04:43 PM
Shaidar
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default Afraid I dont understand

For those of us who are new to this whole thing could you explain how to implement these two fixes? :( kinda got lost at the whole environment variable, and some source info with the new releases...

Also what should I be doing overall for the startup process of my private server (assuming I have everything setup right)

I appreciate any help you guys could provide.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-20-2007, 08:34 AM
sfisque
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 248
Default

regarding the library path, your startup script for world, zone, etc. should include something like this in its preamble (the area where you set up variables before doing the heavy lifting)

Code:
MYSQL_LIB=`mysql_config --libs`
P=`pwd` 

export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$MYSQL_LIB:$P"

note those are backticks and NOT single quotes. backticks tell /bin/sh that it should take the output of those commands and place it in the variable, rather than setting the variable to the explicit values listed, e.g. if pwd outputs "/home/eq_admin/server" then using the backticks will cause P to equal that output, rather than setting P equal to "pwd".

hope that helps.

as for angelox's fix, whenever you update from an older build, always, always, ALWAYS (did i mention always) read the changelogs because if the new executable requires changes to teh database, those changes will either occur in the changelog script or be referenced in another file.

reading == your friend

== sfisque
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-30-2007, 11:17 AM
Lalolyen
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sneeking up behind a admin IRL
Posts: 169
Default

he can also execute ./world WITH ALL THAT JUNK ON THE END LIKE THIS.

=)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-02-2007, 05:15 PM
gernblan
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 394
Default

True, but may as well set the variables and make them perm as they wont' break anything and will actually make life easier in general from what I can tell.
__________________
--
Keelyeh
Owner, ServerOp and Developer
Jest 4 Server
Linux (Jest3 runs on Fedora, our Dev servers usually run on Ubuntu and/or Gentoo), OC-12 Connection = Hella Fast
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-2007, 05:18 PM
token419
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Default

im having the same issue, i do have that defined in my start script also and it is identicle and im also have the .so file in my server directory where im issueing the command

figured it was a ubuntu thing so i reinstalled debian but was wondering if anyone could give me more guided info on how to correct the libemusharemem.so file from not loading

when you say a . in that value what does that imply? right now when i try to start world with ./world i get that error
and when i execute the ./start (the name of my script file) it gives me an error also (but i dont see the same text output as when i run ./world)

and my startup script is identical to the "Yet another Linux Installation Guide" guide, i have followed that and the mysql setup guide step by step and impletemented all DB upgrades as per changelog but i can not get the server to start for the life of me lol

could it be a bad compile or possibly a DB issue or something im just missing from the config or start script? iv compiled 4x now 2 on each distro and same issues, also i tried makeing symbolic links as another guide suggested and that didnt work for me either, also im useing peq newest DB off downloads page and its updated through the changelog, im starting to think it may be a compile issue of some sorts but im totally lost

but when i run ./world it does get an ip from the server - and the only error message occurs when its loading items (assuming thats the first time it tries to load the libemusharemem.so file, also when launching ./zone i recieve the same issues with not being able to load the libemusharemem.so file

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:15 AM
jimbabwe
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 107
Default

I just installed the emulator on ubuntu and I was having the exact same problem. I didn't really want to use a script but I ended up having to as I couldn't get that environment variable set from the commandline (I'm a linux newp)

I was also unable to get the linking thing working that was done in the other linux guide. The writer mentions quite a bit about libemusharemem.so (NOT "YetAnotherLinuxGuide")

I used the script from the other linux guide in the wiki I believe. (NOT "YetAnotherLinuxGuide")

I get an shmat error when I run it but everything seems fine with the server. I've only just gotten it going, so I haven't really looked into resolving that error.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:41 AM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

For shmat errors see this thread: http://eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=23186

You can ignore the posts about the items, they are in the newest CVS (which is why you are getting the error) the second page has a few solutions to the problem, basically you have to increase your shared memory size.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-12-2007, 07:52 AM
jimbabwe
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Thanks cavedude. I'll take a look at that this evening. As far as the script I was running I was incorrect. I'm using the script from "yet another linux guide".
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-12-2007, 03:24 PM
token419
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2
Smile

well i solved my issue, really in reality i had no issue lol
my server booted and operates just fine, but i didnt think it was working since i got that error but it appears that when i use the startup script im golden

just had to make the DB change to reflect the "peq" that was trying to be loaded in the script and my zone server started working and soon my server was unlocked and ready to go

im also having the same issue with shmat but i seem to be fine at the moment without updateing that setting, also my setting file was blank lol in my distro but no worries i can figure that out when the time comes =) finally get to get my hands dirty and break it now and do it all over again
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-13-2007, 08:22 AM
jimbabwe
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 107
Default

Yes I was rather unaware as to how scripting worked. I assumed since I was going back to the terminal prompt after it ran that it was crashing out. However, for some time I'd actually had a working server and just didn't realize it.

edit: that's windows inundation for you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:29 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3