Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::Server Discussion

General::Server Discussion Discussion about emulator servers.
Do not post support topics here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 03-20-2017, 07:06 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,212
Default

Can't fix broken..SOE broke those when they updated the client to dx9.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
  #17  
Old 03-20-2017, 08:24 PM
ghanja's Avatar
ghanja
Discordant
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
Can't fix broken..SOE broke those when they updated the client to dx9.
Yep, collision detection gone to shit. Would have required too much work on SOE's part, enter the Translocator.

However, there is one or two models where it does work "properly", which ones at the moment escapes me.
  #18  
Old 03-20-2017, 08:33 PM
GRUMPY's Avatar
GRUMPY
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 157
Default

Chronicles of Norrath server description, states "working boats" ?
__________________
Smokin' in the Boys Room .....
  #19  
Old 03-21-2017, 03:44 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRUMPY View Post
Chronicles of Norrath server description, states "working boats" ?
Ya I remember that, I need to jump back on there and test it out but I did at one point and they did seem to be mostly working. Obviously p99 added in levitate somehow to make them work, my levitate spell doesn't accomplish a similar thing so not exactly sure how they did that either.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
Can't fix broken..SOE broke those when they updated the client to dx9.
Hmm good to know. But any type of "hackjob" to make it pseudo work is better than nothing.

Another question, does following the boat while swimming allow you to zone? I just really don't like the translocators for my pre-kunark server so ya xD.
  #20  
Old 03-21-2017, 08:06 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

You need the file pack from the website to make everything 100%, but yes all three servers have them working.
  #21  
Old 03-21-2017, 08:07 AM
jpyou127's Avatar
jpyou127
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 233
Default

If you search these forums the owner of Chronicles of Norrath-Provocating, gives some details on how to make the boats work. If you look back in my post history you can also see info as several of us had questions. Biggest thing is that you have to persistent zones. Anyway its on the forums, just search for it.

Provocating chimed in above =)
  #22  
Old 03-21-2017, 08:31 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Basically this is what you have to do, refer to my prior post if you want very specific details. First you need to make the zones containing boats 100% static, this will mean editing the source to some extent. Just launching the zones as static is not enough, movement goes dormant when there are no clients in the zone. The spawns need to remain moving even when clients in the zone are zero, at least the boats do. Having everything moving will keep the boats synced up. You absolutely have to have levitate on the boats, there are no options on that. The Kunark boat has several spots on the deck you will fall through, so there is that. Other than that it is all about timing, plenty of globals to keep track of the boats. You will notice I did hails in some of the zones from the dockmasters or the Dwarf at the Butcherblock docks, this helps the players know the locations of the boats.

You do the zoning by catching the boats next to last waypoint, gathering all the clients within the vicinity of the boat and porting those to the next zone. The boat has to be in the next zone and ready to receive players or they will hit the water. The hardest boat by far to do was the skiffs in Butcherblock, getting those synced up to the Kunark boat took me an extremely long time, probably 2 weeks.

They are 100% functional though, I know I have done hours and hours of constant testing and never fallen off a boat. The only time you would is if you went LD. But that is classic right?
  #23  
Old 03-21-2017, 09:47 AM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,252
Default

Sorry for stupid question - they did make boats work on P99 - no? Or they made a work around like the above?
  #24  
Old 03-21-2017, 10:07 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Yes, their boats work. They do occasionally get stuck from reading forum post. They went with more of a c++ solution on the transitioning of clients between zones. They also have to use a pseudo boat levitate for the same reasons.

Also, these solutions work fine with Titanium and Underfoot but do not expect them to work with ROF based clients. The X,Y and Z positions on those clients are different when you enter a boat. That is why you can have an Underfoot client see you just fine until you enter a boat with a RoF2 client. Suddenly the clients cannot see each other. It has been a year since I messed with it, but I see to remember the RoF2 client having it's coordinates consider the boat as 0,0,0
  #25  
Old 03-21-2017, 11:40 AM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,212
Default

I think the model coordinates switched from actual to vehicle offset in that case.

Seem to remember something funky like that when messing with the row boats.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
  #26  
Old 03-21-2017, 11:47 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

Correct. When using ROF, your coordinates are based off what they consider the center of the boat. As soon as you step off the boat you go back to normal zone coordinates.
  #27  
Old 03-21-2017, 08:53 PM
GRUMPY's Avatar
GRUMPY
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 157
Default

Just wanted to mention something about this server (see OP), haha. Some people think these type of non-solo "grinding" servers
are not fast enough experience for them. There is a player on this one, who was just level 26 two days ago,(when I got db from
Sercrets) and just himself with a merc has gained 17 levels already without doing it 24/7. He's just really good at EQ and knows
his game.
__________________
Smokin' in the Boys Room .....
  #28  
Old 03-22-2017, 11:15 AM
Maze_EQ
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 843
Default

I meant to play.

Instead I played Mass Effect for 14 hours straight.

Oops?
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
  #29  
Old 03-22-2017, 01:16 PM
mjbcb0717's Avatar
mjbcb0717
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 91
Default

Iv been playing solitaire. And sometimes I go outside
__________________
DIEING Is the easy part....living is a real BITCH
  #30  
Old 03-22-2017, 01:28 PM
Maze_EQ
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 843
Default

What is this "outside"?
__________________
"No, thanks, man. I don't want you fucking up my life, too."

Skype:
Comerian1
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3