Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #511  
Old 04-23-2020, 04:14 PM
hokken
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Ok thanks Uleat, it doesn't look there is too much in there as it is a fresh install. I did install MariaDB manually but other issues came up, for now ill stick to my windows 7 server
Reply With Quote
  #512  
Old 05-20-2020, 02:09 PM
Xanathol
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 45
Default

Trying to prop up a fresh install and the install script seems to have a few issues so far, namely in the function to download and save files from the github site. For example, it attempts to grab EQEmuMaps-master.zip and save it in the maps folder as maps.zip, but that fails to write the file. Downloading each zip manually and renaming as the script is expecting seems to be working so far.

Edit: because of this, also have to remove the calls to unlink / rmtree various files and update the script - fun times. Now to hunt down libmysql__.dll.
Reply With Quote
  #513  
Old 05-22-2020, 02:54 PM
Ladrone's Avatar
Ladrone
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 23
Default

My install was also missing the libmysql.dll but luckily I had a previous install on the box so I was able to copy from the other directory. I noticed you need to run the server install more than once, seems some of the requirements needed early on get added during the install later I am guessing? I have not dug into it yet but do recall when I set one up before I had to run the install multiple times to get all of the server components up and running.
__________________
AKA Soulree Voker & Pakeena Phattee of Bertoxxulous
Reply With Quote
  #514  
Old 05-22-2020, 04:03 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,040
Default

Yeah there seems to be an issue with powershell web client consistently downloading files; we will be reverting it to the wget binary that we have been using for years. I will be going through more testing either today or tomorrow and we should be back to seamless installs

Seems like if folks have any sort of connection loss they see issues during the install; I had ran through the x64 overhaul about 15-20 times without issues but a few folks have seen otherwise

Will update when I have an update
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #515  
Old 05-22-2020, 05:14 PM
Tyrro
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Good afternoon!
I've been attempting to set up a server for LAN use in a windows 10 environment, and can successfully do so, until attempting to add bots. I run setup_bots using the provided script. Afterwards, it looks like when launching the server bat file, zone.exe is looking for perl512.dll, while a later version of perl is installed (5.24) with the script.

Any recommendations for fixing this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #516  
Old 05-23-2020, 05:59 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrro View Post
Good afternoon!
I've been attempting to set up a server for LAN use in a windows 10 environment, and can successfully do so, until attempting to add bots. I run setup_bots using the provided script. Afterwards, it looks like when launching the server bat file, zone.exe is looking for perl512.dll, while a later version of perl is installed (5.24) with the script.

Any recommendations for fixing this issue?
Issues regarding bots downloading the x86 version should be resolved

Issues regarding maps downloading inconsistently should also be resolved during install
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #517  
Old 05-23-2020, 09:18 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,040
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
That's not an eqemu issue .. that means you have too much in your system's environmental %PATH% variable.

There are ways around it.
This is correct, which is why the guide instructs that you are running on a clean installation of Windows. Too many programs and things installed can lead to issues appending to your installation paths
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #518  
Old 05-24-2020, 07:18 PM
Shiny151
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akkadius View Post
Issues regarding maps downloading inconsistently should also be resolved during install

Akk, I setup a new server with bots from your repack about a month ago. Today I ran: "check_bot_db_updates"

The returned message is: "Database version is ahead of current binaries"

Does that sound right? How is that possible?
Reply With Quote
  #519  
Old 05-25-2020, 12:34 AM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,770
Default

It means that you have older binaries than what your database is updated to..assuming there's not another issue.

I added that message a little while ago when I reworked the update process.

Make sure that you've got the latest unstable binaries rather than the stable ones - they're REALLY out of date.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #520  
Old 05-26-2020, 06:52 PM
Shiny151
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
It means that you have older binaries than what your database is updated to..assuming there's not another issue.

I added that message a little while ago when I reworked the update process.

Make sure that you've got the latest unstable binaries rather than the stable ones - they're REALLY out of date.
Thanks Uleat; when I run these updates; does it stage them and then update on the next server reboot or do I need to pull them out of bin and replace them manually? (for the binaries)
Reply With Quote
  #521  
Old 05-26-2020, 07:25 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,770
Default

Always update your binaries while you server is down.

The update is immediate and nothing more needs to be done.

You can then update your database manually (while your there) or world.exe will update it once it's started.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:45 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3