Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2021, 09:34 PM
Lachlanmac
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Default Bot Hold/Supsend/Release

Hey all, I'm having a hard time understanding the functionality of these.

I was attempting to set up a "camp" where the bots Guard an area and I could hold their AI until I got back to avoid them coming to the monster once I got aggro. However, when I use either the Hold or Suspend command, Release doesn't appear to restart their AI. My tank bot just kinda stood there and let a frog beat the hell out of him for about 5 minutes.

Am i using this correctly? Or is there a better way to do what I want to accomplish?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-20-2021, 09:42 PM
Gnowm
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 15
Default

Dunno bots well but the folk here will ask ya have you read and absorbed
https://eqemu.gitbook.io/server/cate...s#bot-commands

For best answers try adding details like
What exact commands are you trying, etc etc
A quick look showed this
^release - Releases a suspended bot's AI processing (with hate list wipe) maybe need to re-attack as well.
Stances may also add your wanted functionality. Tried them?

And the actionable bot arguments section.

Discord is the best spot for specific and swift responses. This is mentioned for bots.

Just a guess based on other posts here.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2021, 04:40 PM
lctucker2999
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 51
Default

I'm not 100% sure how all the difference bot commands work or what they're supposed to do, but when I use the guard command, my bots don't really "guard" anything, they just stand there. In order to get them to kill stuff, I have to cancel the guard command by telling them to follow me again, which wakes them all up.

So I have 4 main hotkeys that I use while "raiding" with my army of bots:
^summon spawned (doesn't work while guarding)
^guard spawned
^atk spawned
And the 4th hotkey is follow, which has 3 lines:
/tar (myself)
/pause 1
^follow spawned

Basically if I want to pull mobs to camp without my army following me, I'll summon all my bots to the "camp" then have them guard. After aggro'ing the mob I want, I'll pull it back to camp and once the mob is close enough I'll click my follow button, then my attack button (on my server, bots won't attack unless auto attack is on, so I do need to re-click the mob, and turn on attack). Once my army rushes the mob, I will use my summon button to strategically position and re-position my army to make sure they don't push the target where I don't want it to be.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2021, 03:01 PM
Sisca
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 7
Default

I've tried using these 4 hotkeys and my bots are still behaving strangely.

I use "^guard spawned" and get a messaged saying 5 of my bots are guarding their position as expected.

If I then target myself and type "^follow spawned" I get a message saying that 5 of my bots are following my character name. Also as expected.

However, the bots continue just standing where they were guarding and don't actually follow me. If I try "^summon spawned" they all appear on top of me and then run straight back to the guard spot. If I tell them to "^atk spawned" then they run over, beat up the target and run straight back to the guard position.

So far the only way I can get them to stop guarding once they've started is ^camp and respawn them.

Any ideas would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2021, 11:01 AM
Fixxer007
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Posts: 10
Default

I have the same problem. I would love to see how to keep them from following me everywhere. Perhaps to set all of the bots to follow the bot healer, and then set the bot healer to follow no one (if that is possible)... I'm grasping at straws on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2021, 01:11 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,818
Default

All bots commands have a usage definition.

For instance, type ^guard usage and it will display argument usage and available options.

In this case, ^guard spawned will cause all spawned bots to 'guard' their current position.

To clear this, type ^guard clear spawned and they will resume their current ^follow behavior.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-04-2022, 01:43 PM
Sisca
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
All bots commands have a usage definition.

For instance, type ^guard usage and it will display argument usage and available options.

In this case, ^guard spawned will cause all spawned bots to 'guard' their current position.

To clear this, type ^guard clear spawned and they will resume their current ^follow behavior.
Thank you! This works great.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3