Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::MiniLogin

Support::MiniLogin Support forum for problems with the official MiniLogin release.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:26 AM
krytonic
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default cannot connect to loginserver

On my world.exe it sais it cannot connect to the loginserver, any help will be much appreciated. Here are my xml and loginserver.ini files:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
	<world>
	    <shortname>eq</shortname>
	    <longname>eq</longname>
	           
	<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
	    <!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
	    <!--<localaddress>172.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
	   
	<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
	    <loginserver>
	        <host>localhost</host>
	        <port>5998</port>
	        <account></account>
	        <password></password>
	    </loginserver>

	    <!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
	    <key>some long random string</key>

	    <!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
	    <http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
	</world>

	<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
	<database>
	    <host>localhost</host>
	    <port>3306</port>
	    <username>root</username>
	    <password>[password removed for obviouse reasons]</password>
	    <db>peq</db>
	</database>
</server>
Code:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=172.0.0.1
#loginserver2=newlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginport=5999
#loginport2=5999
worldname=eq
worldaddress=172.0.0.1
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=MiniLogin
ServerPort=5999
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2008, 10:58 AM
Furinex
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 178
Default

Well, right off the bat, 172.0.0.1 is not a valid IP address... What you're looking for is 127.0.0.1. You need to change 172.0.0.1 to 127.0.0.1 in both the loginserver.ini and the eqemu_config.xml.

Secondly, this section, of the eqemu_config.xml, is incorrect...

Code:
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
	    <!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
	    <!--<localaddress>172.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
You need to uncomment the 2 bottom lines so it looks like this....

Code:
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
	   <address>Serving Machines IP</address>
	    <localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>
On top of all that, Your port in eqemu_config.xml is 5998 and the one in the loginserver.ini is 5999 -- conflicting port numbers could end up to be an issue.

Also make sure your accounts section has the minilogin_ip field with your IP address in it so the loginserver knows who you are. AND in the the variables table, Logintype should be set to Minilogin vice public so your database knows to look for your IP address. And if all else fails, in your loginserver.ini, there's a line at the bottom that looks like this:

Code:
[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=MiniLogin
ServerPort=5999
You can change it to this if minilogin doesnt work, Ive found this setting to go either way so if you are having problems still after all the other tips I mentioned, try it.

Code:
[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=StandAlone
ServerPort=5999
__________________
U.S. Navy - Retired
17 Year EQ Veteran
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2008, 04:11 PM
krytonic
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default

It seems I did quite a few stupid mistakes when setting this up, I changed the IPs to 127.0.0.1 and changed the port too and everything works good now, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2008, 04:20 PM
krytonic
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Well now it logs into the server but it doesn't show any servers on the list
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2008, 07:16 PM
Furinex
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 178
Default

Post your logs, Should be in the eqemu/logs folder, Delete all the ones there, start the server and new ones should show up, that'll give me a better indication. Also, here are my config Files just to show you a compairison.

Loginserver.ini

Code:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.2.2
loginserver2=newlogin1.eqemulator.net
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldshortname=Furinex
worldname=DDG-67 USS COLE
worldaddress=192.168.2.2
locked=false
account=
password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=Furinex
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=StandAlone
ServerPort=5999
eqemu_config.xml

Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
	<world>
	    <shortname>Furinex</shortname>
	    <longname>Furinex - PEQ Based DB, live-like</longname>
	           
	<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
	    <address>192.168.2.2</address>
	    <localaddress></localaddress>
	   
	<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
	    <loginserver>
	        <host>192.168.2.2</host>
	        <port>5999</port>
	        <account></account>
	        <password></password>
	    </loginserver>

	    <!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
	    <key>some long random string</key>

	    <!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
	    <http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
	</world>

	<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
	<database>
	    <host>localhost</host>
	    <port>3306</port>
	    <username>root</username>
	    <password>*****</password>
	    <db>peq</db>
	</database>
</server>
</xml>
And remember, minilogin_ip in the accounts table must be filled out right. Also the Variables table must have Minilogin in it instead of public for server type.


eqhost.txt file should be like this

Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=192.168.2.2:5999
Use those files as a template for yours with all of your info in it, like password, IP address. Change only the items that are specific to your machine and it will work. Works for me.
__________________
U.S. Navy - Retired
17 Year EQ Veteran
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2008, 10:22 AM
krytonic
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default

Ah ha! I had done the minilogin_id, but i didnt do the variables table, as for some reason i kept looking for "variables" in the account table lmao... its working now, thanks alot for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2008, 01:04 PM
Furinex
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 178
Default

No Problem. Let me know if anything else comes up. I'll be glad to help. Happy EQEmu-ing.
__________________
U.S. Navy - Retired
17 Year EQ Veteran
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3