Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Database/World Building

Development::Database/World Building World Building forum, dedicated to the EQEmu MySQL Database. Post partial/complete databases for spawns, items, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2015, 02:01 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default Clicky spell not showing on item

So I modified the Key of Veeshan to be a wearable necklace, has stats, and also created a teleport spell called Call of Veeshan that teleports owners to Veeshan's Peak. My issue is that the clicky does not show on the item. However, the clicky works.



So even though you don't see any clicky spell, if you right click it, it works. I have given myself an updated spells_us and dbstr_us file as well, didn't change anything.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2015, 04:59 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

What is the 'clicktype' of the item?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2015, 05:28 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingly_Krab View Post
What is the 'clicktype' of the item?
1: Clickable from Inventory
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2015, 08:04 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

Have you compared this item against an known clickie in the database that does show just to verify flags/values?
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-21-2015, 08:21 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Yeah, compared it to another ring with a proc, the only difference is the click type (4 vs 1). I have other custom items that display clickies just fine. It seems to be specific to this custom spell.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-21-2015, 08:37 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

Did you define 'clickeffect' and use that as a reference for db_str?
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2015, 08:53 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Yes, the click effect works fine. I, and others, have tested it multiple times. You right click the item, NO CAST BAR, but after the 8 second cast time you load into VP.

The spells themselves aren't defined in dbstr_us. I used another teleport spell as a reference.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2015, 09:05 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,815
Default

Right, I was looking at one of the bridles I had up for comparison.

It, too, was type 1.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-22-2015, 03:03 AM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

The spell ID is too high I am guessing and it is not showing up on the item. I have done this myself a long time ago when making items. You need to stay within the spell ID range for whatever client you are trying to support.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-22-2015, 08:28 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Underfoot, spell ids under a 32767 seems to be fine as this is what I had to do to get the other custom spells I've created so far to work correctly.

You were part of that discussion actually: http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/sho...49&postcount=9


There's a big blank void in the 28000 range so that's where I've been putting my custom spells.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-22-2015, 08:54 AM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

Actually, some client-side limitations have been noticed, like around the 28,000+ area spells start to have weird issues client-side on Underfoot. Such as the inability to accurately see the spell, regardless of it is in your spell file. There's a pretty cool query that allows you to find spell id ranges that are empty, I re-wrote it a little to sort by the amount of empty spell IDs in each range:
Code:
SELECT (a.id + 1) AS `START`, (MIN(b.id) - 1) AS `END`, ((MIN(b.id - 1)) - (a.id + 1)) AS `AMOUNT` FROM spells_new AS a, spells_new AS b
WHERE (a.id < b.id) GROUP BY a.id HAVING (`START` < MIN(b.id))
ORDER BY `AMOUNT` DESC;
Also, for reference, here's a post by demonstar55: http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/sho...42&postcount=8
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-22-2015, 09:05 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Interesting, will try lowering the ID again when I get home. Thanks for the query.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-22-2015, 09:08 AM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

You're welcome, I forget who originally wrote it, but it was long while back, I just hold on to nifty stuff, haha.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-22-2015, 11:27 AM
Shendare
Dragon
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California
Posts: 814
Default

Huh. The weirdness makes me wonder whether some part of the ancient cobbled code uses part of the spell id for a bitflag or something, thinking they'd never get above 16384. Random useless thought.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-22-2015, 11:43 AM
N0ctrnl's Avatar
N0ctrnl
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
Default

I had issues with this very thing when I was trying to create new port spells. It's very frustrating until you realize that's what it is. That query was a lifesaver. I have it saved for future reference.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3