Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Old 07-10-2018, 01:11 PM
kris1
Sarnak

Default Complete NOOB!!!

I have my server up and running...i can at least log into it and it seems to function well. Haven't done much though.

I was trying to start learning about how to change my server's rules, and it seems like i am missing something. I've read a bunch of explanations and I can't for the life of me even begin to see what they are talking about.

I found HeidiSQL...I opened it...another mystery. I see people explain it like it should be obvious, but it's not.

So if anyone knows of a good guide for the basics of how to modify your server rules...I mean BASICS, like I have no idea what file or files in my server folder is even the database...or can give me a brief tutorial on how to get my server's DB open inside of heidiSQL...anything.

Thanks in advance for any help
Old 07-10-2018, 02:06 PM
HuginnNavarita
Fire Beetle

DB is basically a service....its like a server running, you will not find any active files on your drive....

what is confusing to start with is the many ways to interact with it....most experts will recommend you learn the basics...that is a solid advice, but hard to wrap your head around.

1. Direct access (the expert way)

then you log in with a command and BINGO you are at a prompt and got no clue what todo haha you can see information in tables and also you can update or insert a new line in the table.

2. GUI graphical interface, then a client will connect to the DB same way as in Nr.1 and you can then more visually see the structure of the whole thing, those clients are many and have many different functions. This can be the best way to start as long as you understand the structure of DB and different applications, as these clients most often offer a BACKUP of tables or whole DB.