Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2013, 12:13 PM
LordAdakos
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Default Attuning items

Is there a way to set attunement status for a weapon?

I know you can take an item, give it to an NPC, and return the base item as a cheap workout for un-attuning items, but what if you want to make the item attuned when you receive it?

Say you were upgrading an attuned dagger through three teirs, and if it was attuned to begin with, you return an attuned version, if it wasn't , you return a tradable version.

Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2013, 02:06 PM
ghanja's Avatar
ghanja
Dragon
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordAdakos View Post
Is there a way to set attunement status for a weapon?

I know you can take an item, give it to an NPC, and return the base item as a cheap workout for un-attuning items, but what if you want to make the item attuned when you receive it?

Say you were upgrading an attuned dagger through three teirs, and if it was attuned to begin with, you return an attuned version, if it wasn't , you return a tradable version.

Is this possible?
An "attuned" item is essentially a 'no trade' item. Not sure I'm following your desires. Could you clarify?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2013, 03:57 PM
LordAdakos
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Default

If you are familiar with the Defiant line of weapons, they increase in power progressively though 8 distinct Tiers.
I believe it's crude, simple, rough, etc, - I'm Have a script in place for individuals to upgrade progressively though the tiers, with the reagents becoming more expensive as the quest progresses, but want to avoid twinking if possible.

By that I mean, when the weapon is handed back to the player, they receive a 'clean' version which is not attuned yet. They could theoretically trade this to an alt.
I Could make it no-drop, but I was planning on making an un-attune quest, where it would cost X level and Y AA points to un-attune an item, which would make it quite expensive.

The only way I can think to do it with no-drop is to make a copy of each item that is flagged 'no-drop' or 'droppable' and have the un-attune NPC return the item to the player depending if they want to spend the EXP to turn it into a droppable/tradable item, but was hoping to avoid having to copy/create/flag the 8 Tiers of ~10 weapons each.

Does this help explain it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2013, 04:15 PM
c0ncrete's Avatar
c0ncrete
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 719
Default

how are you returning the items?

$client->SummonItem() accepts the following parameters

item_id, charges=0, attune=0, aug1=0, aug2=0, aug3=0, aug4=0, aug5=0, slot_id=30

you'll need to check $item#_attuned in your script to get the value of the attuned flag for the item that was turned in

take a look at the return_items subroutine in plugins\check_handin.pl for an example
__________________
I muck about @ The Forge.
say(rand 99>49?'try '.('0x'.join '',map{unpack 'H*',chr rand 256}1..2):'incoherent nonsense')while our $Noport=1;
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-17-2013, 04:20 PM
LordAdakos
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 57
Default

I was using
Code:
if (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, $item_id => 1, $reagent => 1))
		{
quest::emote(" blah blah blah");
quest::summonitem($item_id_to_give_to_player);
              }

Edit: oooh Thanks! This should work?

Code:
if (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, $item_id => 1, $reagent => 1))
		{
$client->SummonItem($item_id_to_give_to_player,0,1)

              }

Thank you, I'll do that right away!

Last edited by LordAdakos; 02-17-2013 at 04:32 PM.. Reason: Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3