Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 10-28-2008, 05:15 AM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MNWatchdog View Post
Personally, I think you should change to the DB method and it only with a importer and exporter app for the spells.txt file.
I think that's the route I'll go.

I'll probably just make a Perl script to do both (since not everyone has PHP installed on their server systems), although I'm already to the point where I have about 80% of the base Titanium spell file in a .sql file that can be easily sourced (80% being the table structure, 20% importing it from the spells file).
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-28-2008, 08:51 AM
Congdar
Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: my own little world
Posts: 751
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndMetal View Post
That's the way it currently works (which is a pita, and why most, if not all servers, use either the straight Titanium spell file or slightly modified version), and I think that's why I'm confused about where you're coming from.
Your very first post said something about modifying spells which seemed to me to be the pita way.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-18-2008, 08:00 AM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndMetal View Post
I'll probably just make a Perl script
http://code.google.com/p/projecteqem...port_spells.pl

Code:
Usage: import_spells.pl [-c path] [-s path] [-t table] [-d]
  -c path       path/to/eqemu_config.xml. defaults to eqemu_config.xml
  -s path       path/to/spells_us.txt. defaults to spells_us.txt
  -t table      table to load the spells into. defaults to spells_new
  -d            erase all spells from the database first
Tested it out several times and it works fine, including the erasing of the table.

I feel there are probably some opportunities to clean up the script a little (I've never worked with DBI before), so if anyone has any recommendations, let me know (or if you have SVN access, feel free to change it).
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-24-2008, 07:13 AM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

Just finished up the export script:

Code:
Usage: import_spells.pl [-c path] [-t table] [-i column] [-s path] [-o]
  -c path       path/to/eqemu_config.xml. defaults to eqemu_config.xml
  -t table      table to load the spells from. defaults to spells_new
  -i column     name of the column in the database table to order by. defaults to id
  -s path       path/to/export/spells_us.txt. defaults to spells_us.txt
  -o            overwrite spells_us.txt if it exists
The is also now officially in SVN as of revision 230. If anyone is confused about what to do, let me know.
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:34 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Can you give an example of using the script? Also, how do you disable using this so it continues to use the normal spells file? From reading the changelog, it sounds like it is supposed to use this table by default. I am guessing that means it will ignore the spells file unless you disable this feature? Or, will it use the spells file if it can't find the table?

BTW, your code box in your export script post says "import", not "export" for usage.

So, to import spells into the database, I would do this?:

Code:
/utils/import_spells.pl -c /home/eqemu/server/eqemu_config.xml -s /home/eqemu/server/spells_us.txt -t spells_new -d
And to export the table, I would do this?:

Code:
/utils/export_spells.pl -c /home/eqemu/server/eqemu_config.xml -t spells_new -s /home/eqemu/server/spells_us.txt
EDIT: Just tried to run this, but I haven't ran a .pl file before and it doesn't seem to run just from a terminal window. Is there something else I need to do to run it?

Code:
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$ ls 
0.6.1-upgrade.sql  items-0.6.0-DR2-0.6.1-DR1-convert.sql  ppskillfix
apathing           itemtablechanges.sql                   schema.xml
asmtools           load_13thfloor_items.pl                serialize_items.pl
azone              Makefile                               spell_explorer.cpp
azone2             opcodes.conf                           sql
charmove           patch_6.2.conf                         struct_fields.sh
cleanipc.cpp       patch_Anniversary.conf                 TaskMaster
defaults           patch_Live.conf                        throwpackets.pl
export_spells.pl   patch_Titanium.conf                    wr_update.sql
hexvis             perlxs                                 ZONECFG.SQL
import_showeq      ppconvert
import_spells.pl   ppreader.pl
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$ import_spells.pl -h bash: import_spells.pl: command not found
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$ ./import_spells.pl -h
bash: ./import_spells.pl: /usr/bin/perl^M: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!

Last edited by trevius; 11-24-2008 at 04:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:55 AM
jenco420
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 99
Default

should be able to just

Code:
sh export_spells.pl
but i don't have a linux box near me atm
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-24-2008, 09:22 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

This is what I get from sh:

Code:
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$ sh export_spells.pl -h
: command not foundine 2:
export_spells.pl: line 5: use: command not found
: command not foundine 5:
export_spells.pl: line 6: use: command not found
: command not foundine 6:
: command not foundine 7:
export_spells.pl: line 9: syntax error near unexpected token `'c:t:i:s:oh''
'xport_spells.pl: line 9: `getopts('c:t:i:s:oh');
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$ sh import_spells.pl -c /home/eqemu/server/eqemu_config.xml -s /home/eqemu/server/spells_us.txt -t spells_new -d
: command not foundine 2:
import_spells.pl: line 5: use: command not found
: command not foundine 5:
import_spells.pl: line 6: use: command not found
: command not foundine 6:
: command not foundine 7:
import_spells.pl: line 9: syntax error near unexpected token `'c:s:t:dh''
'mport_spells.pl: line 9: `getopts('c:s:t:dh');
eqemu@muse:~/source/EQEmuServer2/utils$
And, to set it back to load the normal spell file, I am guessing I need to modify this part of the spdat.h?:

Code:
//#define NEW_LoadSPDat
#define DB_LoadSPDat	//load from DB vs spells_us.txt. for now, we're piggybacking NEW_LoadSPDat, so it will take precedence
Or does that mean this is still disabled by default? Change log says enabled by default, so I am not understanding. Do I just need to comment out #define DB_LoadSPDat ? I can't even get it to compile if that line is commented out. If loading spells from the DB is now enabled by default, and it doesn't automatically use the spells_us.txt file if the spells_new table isn't available, then I think this needs to be disabled ASAP. Or we at least need a complete noobie guide to setting it up, because I know that if I am having trouble with it, many others will too.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!

Last edited by trevius; 11-24-2008 at 05:39 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-24-2008, 11:57 AM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jenco420 View Post
should be able to just

Code:
sh export_spells.pl
but i don't have a linux box near me atm
egads! Don't feed it to shell. Make sure the script is at least executable, ie 755 or whatever you want it to be and make sure the first line of the script points to the location of your perl executable. Depending on you distro and how you installed it, it could be in either /usr/bin or /usr/local/bin, unless you installed it intentionally in another location.

Edit: Looked at your error and it seems to be picking up the ^M from the DOS file type. You can edit those out or you can run dos2unix to remove them.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-24-2008, 01:46 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

It's a perl script, not a shell script so use:

Code:
perl export_spells.pl
It'll work on either Windows or Linux of course.

Not sure if anybody would use it, but here is the sql dump of the spells file: http://projecteq.net/cavedude/spells_new.zip Source utils/230_spells_table.sql first for the schema, as that is just data. It'll appear as a system table in PEQ CVS.

Last edited by cavedude; 11-24-2008 at 10:10 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-24-2008, 03:35 PM
KLS
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,348
Default

Just for the future: I'd rather you turn large (potentially game breaking) features off by default at least at first when they coexist with previous implementations.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 11-24-2008, 03:53 PM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

It doesn't look like it can be disabled. :( Without the table, zones crash as soon as a spell is cast, with a blank table, the zones won't boot at all.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 11-24-2008, 04:36 PM
leslamarch
Discordant
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 436
Default

Been trying the export script for 2 hours now with no luck


Code:
perl export_spells.pl
install_driver(mysql) failed: Can't locate DBD/mysql.pm in @INC (@INC contains:
C:/Perl/site/lib C:/Perl/lib .) at (eval 4) line 3, <F> line 36.
Perhaps the DBD::mysql perl module hasn't been fully installed,
or perhaps the capitalisation of 'mysql' isn't right.
Available drivers: DBM, ExampleP, File, Gofer, Proxy, SQLite, Sponge, mysqlPP.
 at export_spells.pl line 62
*waves the white flag*
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 11-24-2008, 04:44 PM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leslamarch View Post
Been trying the export script for 2 hours now with no luck


Code:
perl export_spells.pl
install_driver(mysql) failed: Can't locate DBD/mysql.pm in @INC (@INC contains:
C:/Perl/site/lib C:/Perl/lib .) at (eval 4) line 3, <F> line 36.
Perhaps the DBD::mysql perl module hasn't been fully installed,
or perhaps the capitalisation of 'mysql' isn't right.
Available drivers: DBM, ExampleP, File, Gofer, Proxy, SQLite, Sponge, mysqlPP.
 at export_spells.pl line 62
*waves the white flag*
Did you install the DBD::mysql module? It's got a new name and I don't remember what it is off the top of my head. You should be able to use ppm to find it though. I'm not sure what the mysqlPP is, but it typically means mysql Pure Perl. I'm not sure if that's the same thing or not. I don't run it on my windows box anymore so I don't know for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 11-24-2008, 07:33 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Is it possible to retract an SVN submission? Would be pretty awesome to just be able to remove it and not have to either manually remove everything added in it, or commit an older version to revert it.

I was hoping to get the new food stats fix in that I got done last night, but couldn't because of the problems with this.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 11-25-2008, 02:03 AM
AndMetal
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 648
Default

Sheesh, I go away for 17 hours and everyone freaks out...

Anyways, to address the questions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius View Post
Can you give an example of using the script?
cavedude pretty much got it. I would recommend using the -h (for [h]elp) switch, recommended in the changelog:
Quote:
==11/24/2008==
AndMetal: Spells can now be loaded from the database, and is now enabled by default. Use utils/import_spells.pl to import, utils/export_spells.pl to export. Use -h on either for usage.

Required SQL: utils/sql/svn/229_spells_table.sql
Code:
perl import_spells.pl -h

perl export_spells.pl -h
which gives the usage (which I also posted above):
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndMetal View Post
Code:
Usage: import_spells.pl [-c path] [-s path] [-t table] [-d]
  -c path       path/to/eqemu_config.xml. defaults to eqemu_config.xml
  -s path       path/to/spells_us.txt. defaults to spells_us.txt
  -t table      table to load the spells into. defaults to spells_new
  -d            erase all spells from the database first
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndMetal View Post
Code:
Usage: export_spells.pl [-c path] [-t table] [-i column] [-s path] [-o]
  -c path       path/to/eqemu_config.xml. defaults to eqemu_config.xml
  -t table      table to load the spells from. defaults to spells_new
  -i column     name of the column in the database table to order by. defaults to id
  -s path       path/to/export/spells_us.txt. defaults to spells_us.txt
  -o            overwrite spells_us.txt if it exists
By default, it will look for both eqemu_config.xml & spells_us.txt in the current directory (as indicated in the usage info for the switches, since they don't have any /'s before the names of the files), so you could easily just execute it from your server directory. For me, I would end up using something like this, cause even though symbolic links are awesome, I don't really like making them a lot:
Code:
eqemu@amsk-server:~/svn/EQEmuServer/utils$ perl import_spells.pl -c ~/server/eqemu_config.xml -s ~/server/spells_us.txt -d

eqemu@amsk-server:~/svn/EQEmuServer/utils$ perl export_spells.pl -c ~/server/eqemu_config.xml -s /var/www/eqemu/spells_us.txt -o
Then, you can just add the export to your startup script so it exports at runtime if you wanna be one of the cool kids

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius View Post
Also, how do you disable using this so it continues to use the normal spells file? From reading the changelog, it sounds like it is supposed to use this table by default. I am guessing that means it will ignore the spells file unless you disable this feature? Or, will it use the spells file if it can't find the table?
The idea is this will replace using the spells file. The only reason I didn't just straight take out the old stuff is so everyone can continue to use it if they want to (just like turning bots on, SPELL_EFFECT_SPAM, etc) by changing the #defines in zone/spdat.h:
Code:
//#define NEW_LoadSPDat
#define DB_LoadSPDat  //load from DB vs spells_us.txt. for now, we're piggybacking NEW_LoadSPDat, so it will take precedence
One change I might make would be to create a default case if neither are defined:
Code:
//#define NEW_LoadSPDat
#define DB_LoadSPDat  //load from DB vs spells_us.txt. for now, we're piggybacking NEW_LoadSPDat, so it will take precedence
#if !defined(NEW_LoadSPDat) && !defined(DB_LoadSPDat)
#define NEW_LoadSPDat
#endif
However, then we're completely rid of the real old way of doing it (lots of hard coding). I honestly don't think anyone's using that old code, but who knows.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trevius View Post
BTW, your code box in your export script post says "import", not "export" for usage.
Minor typo. I was copying/pasting the top half of the scripts, and forgot to make that change.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KLS View Post
Just for the future: I'd rather you turn large (potentially game breaking) features off by default at least at first when they coexist with previous implementations.
I've actually been using this code, successfully, for just shy of a month (since October 27th to be specific). The only thing that took a little time was the scripts to import/export the spells (having a kid in the middle of all that did slow things down a bit). Not only that, but the main thing it's doing is loading spells into the spells[] "array" from the database instead of the spells_us.txt file. There were also a few unknown values in the SPDat_Spell_Struct struct that I came across, but I made sure it worked with the spells_us.txt file before I even tested with the database (which caused problems with sharedmem a few months ago when I first started working on it). I personally don't consider it to be a "large feature", rather just a bunch of copying, pasting, & tweaking of existing code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leslamarch View Post
Been trying the export script for 2 hours now with no luck


Code:
perl export_spells.pl
install_driver(mysql) failed: Can't locate DBD/mysql.pm in @INC (@INC contains:
C:/Perl/site/lib C:/Perl/lib .) at (eval 4) line 3, <F> line 36.
Perhaps the DBD::mysql perl module hasn't been fully installed,
or perhaps the capitalisation of 'mysql' isn't right.
Available drivers: DBM, ExampleP, File, Gofer, Proxy, SQLite, Sponge, mysqlPP.
 at export_spells.pl line 62
*waves the white flag*
I'm running Debian & have libdbi-perl & libdbd-mysql-perl. The scripts use DBI, so Perl probably just assumes MySQL when trying to connect to the server (automatically negotiated maybe?):
Code:
use DBI;
use Getopt::Std;
As far as I can tell, both of the DB packages are installed automatically when installing the MySQL 5.0 server, again at least on Debian.

I guess the question now is anyone actually having problems after getting the spells into the database? Because other than that, I'm not sure what all the ruckus is about...

I know it compiles, I know it runs, I know it works, and made sure to test it thoroughly before I got to this point. I even just checked my launcher status page & haven't had any zone crashes since my server was booted up at 6:28am today.
__________________
GM-Impossible of 'A work in progress'
A non-legit PEQ DB server
How to create your own non-legit server

My Contributions to the Wiki
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3