Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Bots

Development::Bots Forum for bots.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-28-2015, 04:58 PM
kimura
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 132
Default Natedog...

is a beast, just sayin...

Thanks for the bot fixes bro! You da man!

Not only did he fix and commit the bots crashing and HP/Stats issues, bots now benefit from item's focus effects AND Heroic stats, which they did not before...Good job bro!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2015, 05:02 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kimura View Post
is a beast, just sayin...

Thanks for the bot fixes bro! You da man!

Not only did he fix and commit the bots crashing and HP/Stats issues, bots now benefit from item's focus effects AND Heroic stats, which they did not before...Good job bro!!
About time someone take ownership over bots.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2015, 07:32 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 905
Default

Bots in a good place again?
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2015, 07:50 PM
Kingly_Krab
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsschb View Post
Bots in a good place again?
Yeah, he managed to increase their effectiveness quite a bit, as well as fixing some redundancies and errors, just take a look at today's commits.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2015, 09:01 PM
Burningsoul
Discordant
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 312
Default

I just accidently all over the desk, that's great fugging news man, THANK YOU NATE.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2015, 09:18 PM
NatedogEZ's Avatar
NatedogEZ
Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 515
Default

They are not perfect... but I will continue to work through the crashes as I see them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2015, 11:14 PM
Secrets's Avatar
Secrets
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: b
Posts: 1,450
Default

someone give this man a dev title
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-28-2015, 11:17 PM
kimura
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 132
Default

^ in agreement
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-28-2015, 11:21 PM
atrayas
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secrets View Post
someone give this man a dev title
I second this. Natedog has helped me and my team a ton over on Imperium. Guy deserves the recognition.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2015, 01:10 PM
rencro
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: So. California
Posts: 219
Default

Still crashes on last bot members death.

Ex: Me and my single bot in a 2 person group, bot dies, CRASH.

Group's memory has already been deleted in this case once coming back from:

Code:
// delete from group data
					RemoveBotFromGroup(this, g);
So when this gets processed:

Code:
					// if group members exist below this one, move
					// them all up one slot in the group list
					int j = i+1;
					for(; j<MAX_GROUP_MEMBERS; j++) {
						if(g->members[j]) {
							g->members[j-1] = g->members[j];
							strcpy(g->membername[j-1], g->members[j]->GetCleanName());
							g->membername[j][0] = '\0';
							memset(g->membername[j], 0, 64);
							g->members[j] = nullptr;
						}
					}
It crashes, as I mentioned, that memory is gone.

Looks like it just needed your change moved up in the code: as in

Code:
diff --git a/zone/bot.cpp b/zone/bot.cpp
index ebc5f47..f382272 100644
--- a/zone/bot.cpp
+++ b/zone/bot.cpp
@@ -5897,6 +5897,11 @@ bool Bot::Death(Mob *killerMob, int32 damage, uint16 spell_id, SkillUseTypes att
 					// delete from group data
 					RemoveBotFromGroup(this, g);
 
+					//Make sure group still exists if it doesnt they were already updated in RemoveBotFromGroup
+					g = GetGroup();
+					if (!g)
+						break;
+
 					// if group members exist below this one, move
 					// them all up one slot in the group list
 					int j = i+1;
@@ -5910,11 +5915,6 @@ bool Bot::Death(Mob *killerMob, int32 damage, uint16 spell_id, SkillUseTypes att
 						}
 					}
 					
-					//Make sure group still exists if it doesnt they were already updated in RemoveBotFromGroup
-					g = GetGroup();
-					if (!g)
-						break;
-					
 					// update the client group
 					EQApplicationPacket* outapp = new EQApplicationPacket(OP_GroupUpdate, sizeof(GroupJoin_Struct));
 					GroupJoin_Struct* gu = (GroupJoin_Struct*)outapp->pBuffer;
And then I dont crash in this situation.

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-30-2015, 05:59 PM
phantomghost
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 126
Default

When I am recompiling this it looks like the update files related to this were

bot.cpp
bot.h
questmgr.cpp

When I compile bot.cpp I get 10 errors related to setcurrentspeed.

Not sure what I missed or if I missed adding something, but I cannot get the compile to succeed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-30-2015, 06:16 PM
demonstar55
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 1,165
Default

Update your source again.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-30-2015, 07:41 PM
Tyen05
Discordant
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: eqbrowser.com
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Secrets View Post
someone give this man a dev title
Night crew agrees with this
__________________
Browser based EQ project
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:46 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3