Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::MiniLogin

Support::MiniLogin Support forum for problems with the official MiniLogin release.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-07-2008, 07:45 PM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default How to make proper startup files for Mini-Login use

I keep seeing the same 'ol mistakes, for some reason, really a lot lately.
First, let me explain about your LAN and your IP address;
127.0.0.1 means 'localhost' which in turn means the computer you are at, and no others. Any any incoming requests, that you point to 'localhost' will result in the originating request seeing his/her own PC and not yours. Sooo, you need to not use 127.0.0.1 or 'localhost' in your ini files, regardless of what you see posted elsewhere.
I've always had LANs since the DOS days, my first LAN was a 'Novel Lite" floppy-run LAN. I hope I have learned something about it all by now.
I always keep static IPs on which ever PCs I might use for work I'm doing. I keep an index card with the names and ips assigned to each machine, so they will always be the same, even on a full, OS re-install. currently, my LAN has 4 static ips, and 2 dynamic.
Your server should be static and also your client. You don't need to do this, but life will be nicer if you don't have to worry about your LAN IP changing when you least expect it.
Keep in mind, you're working from with in your LAN, so you should be looking at all LAN related IPs (192.168.*.*) if with whatever method you use you come up with an ip that doesn't start with '192.168.', then you got the wrong IP. If you plan on inviting players from outside your LAN (the Internet), that can be done also - I'll show you how later. First, get your LAN play running.
How to make your XP machine static; go to network places > network connections > select 'properties' > and 'interenet protocol TCP/IP' 'properties' will reveal it all.
Lets say you set your 'server' machine to 192.168.2.105, here are the way your two config files should look,
eqemu_config.xml;
Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
        <world>
                <shortname>classic</shortname>
                <longname>Angelox Classic 2008</longname>
                <!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
		<address>192.168.2.105</address>
		<localaddress>192.168.2.105</localaddress>
		
		<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
        <loginserver>
		<host>192.168.2.105</host>
		<port>5999</port>
		<account></account>
		<password></password>
	</loginserver>
	<unlocked></unlocked>
       <!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
                <key>kiw9083wdfgesiwud</key>
                <!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
                <http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
        </world>

                <!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
        <database>
                <host>localhost</host>
                <port>3306</port>
                <username>eq</username>
                <password>databasepassword</password>
                <db>ax_classic</db>
        </database>
</server>
and the loginserver.ini;
Code:
# READ README.TXT

[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.2.105
#loginserver2=
loginport=5999
#loginport2=
#worldname=
#worldaddress=
#locked=false
#account=
#password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=MiniLogin
ServerPort=5999
Since 'ServerMode=MiniLogin' you have to make the change in your MySql Database table 'variables' under 'LoginType' to 'MiniLogin' 'too.
All eqhost.txt files incuding if you have a client on the server should read like this;
Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=192.168.2.105:5999
This is exactly what I have, I have tested on my windows and Linux servers, they work fine.

Firewalls: if you are behind a router, you don't really need it, you can disable it. Routers have 'hardware' firewall, which is better, unless of course you have someone in the family that likes to download anything, browses like a crazy person, and takes anything anyone gives them (because its free). Then you have to 'not share' any drives to that PC in the LAN, they can get a virus (probably will), and spread via shared drives you might have. Also, you could password -protect your drives from others in the LAN. But outside your LAN, your router will take care of you.

That's it for now, if a Mod or Admin will please sticky this thread, I'll continue build on it, and explain other stuff such as internet play into the LAN.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2008, 08:43 AM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default Setting up your MiniLogin to accept users from the Interenet

Most all of us have dynamic ips (IP address that changes everytime the modem resets). So, in order for players to be able to find you, you'll need to set up a dynamic IP. I use http://www.dynip.com/, Eventually, you have to pay them, but there are free services such as http://www.dyndns.com/. In my case, my dns is blackwater.dynip.com, so I'll use myself as an example.
Here's my eqemu_config.xml (192.168.2.105 and blackwater.dynip.com are pointed/belong to the same machine, 192.168.2.105 is LAN ip and blackwater.dynip.com Internet ip);
Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
        <world>
                <shortname>classic</shortname>
                <longname>Angelox Classic 2008</longname>
                <!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
		<address>blackwater.dynip.com</address>
		<localaddress>192.168.2.105</localaddress>
		
		<!-- Loginserver information.  -->
        <loginserver>
		<host>192.168.2.105</host>
		<port>5999</port>
		<account></account>
		<password></password>
	</loginserver>
	<unlocked></unlocked>
       <!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
                <key>ko898odhus77iwud</key>
                <!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
                <http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
        </world>

                <!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
        <database>
                <host>localhost</host>
                <port>3306</port>
                <username>eq</username>
                <password>lansing222</password>
                <db>ax_classic</db>
        </database>
</server>
And my LoginServer.ini;
Code:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=blackwater.dynip.com
#loginserver2=
loginport=5999
#loginport2=
#worldname=
#worldaddress=
#locked=false
#account=
#password=

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[ChatChannelServer]
worldshortname=
chataddress=
chatport=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=MiniLogin
ServerPort=5999
The clients from the Internet eqhost.txt file should look like this;
Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=blackwater.dynip.com:5999
The clients from within the LAN, might need to have different eqhost.txt files;
Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=192.168.2.105:5999
or you can make a HOST file on your client with this entry;
Code:
192.168.2.105          blackwater.dynip.com
then you can use;
Code:
[LoginServer]
Host=blackwater.dynip.com:5999
The idea is to let the server know you are coming from within the LAN, and not use your Internet ip. This way you can play from as many clients in the LAN as you wish, and still get players from outside the LAN (Internet).

Ports on your router that need to be opened;
3306/udp, 5999/udp, 9000/udp, 7000-7010/udp, 5999/tcp, 3306/tcp, 7000-7010/tcp
ports 7000-7010 are variable, pending on how many dynamic and static zones you start up. If you use 5 dynamic zones and 5 static, then 7000-7010, is ok, if you start more, then increase the amount accordingly.

Last edited by Angelox; 02-05-2009 at 10:46 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2008, 10:28 AM
Demdadar
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
Default

Hello again Angelox.


I have modified almost everything that you said. The only thing I can't seem to change is the MYSQL Minilogin setting, basically because I sourced the database via commands at ms-dos, and I simply don't know how to modify a variable from ms-dos... Also I have tried using a front-end like SQLyog but for some reason it gives me "Error 1405" denied access, so I was forced to do it via ms-dos.

However I tried it (modified everything correctly but the mysql) and the server detected the client and it's IP. But, it stays "Connecting to the login server" for about half a minute, and then I guess the connection goes timeout and it disconnects me (Removes my client). But at least it recognizes me.

Well, the point now I think it's, how to modify the minilog setting variable at the mysql via ms-dos?

Thank you once again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2008, 11:49 AM
Andrew80k
Dragon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 659
Default

Code:
update variables set value='MiniLogin' where varname='LoginType';
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2008, 03:18 PM
Demdadar
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 17
Default

Thank you Andrew80k..

Sadly I have encountered a new problem. I no longer can access to mysql via ms-dos, getting the error I got before (access denied, 1045).

However, now I can get there via SQLyog. But, under the table "Variables" all I can see is 2 folders... One for "Columns" and another one for "Indexes".

When I view the data at variables, I can't see the "LoginType" no where. All I do see is:

MOTD
disablecommandline
PersistentZoneState
decaytime 1 54
decaytime 55 100
Max_AAXP
ZSPassword
loglevel
MerchantsKeepItems
GuildWars
leavecorpses
holdzones
ailevel

And that's all. I tried applying the code you gave me but nothing happened after all.

Is my database too old, maybe? Btw, I can't understand how now happens the inversa that happened before (Now I can login via SQLyog and not in ms-dos, when before it was the contrary) Too strange if you ask me :/

Any ideas...? Or should I just start over/change database?

Thank you very much, don't know what would I do without your help...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2008, 04:02 PM
Angelox
AX Classic Developer
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: filler
Posts: 2,049
Default

This should work;
Code:
INSERT INTO variables VALUES ("LoginType","Minilogin","Set this to Minilogin to login using a minilogin server :)","10/26/2006 2:36:01 PM");
But I don't understand why you don't have that already what version and typ database are you using?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:52 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3