Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Linux Servers

Support::Linux Servers Support forum for Linux EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 05-30-2015, 12:32 PM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by provocating View Post
Read off what is in your launcher table.

Also how are you launching your server? Do you have a start shell script? If so see if you can copy and past it here.
Launcher Table.



To launch the server, I have just been using TMUX to individual run ./shared_memory > ./world > ./zone

EDIT: Looking at the EQServer.sh script, I can see why things might not be working. Thank you Provocating.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-30-2015, 01:00 PM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

Here is the contents of the script.

Code:
ulimit -c unlimited
case "$1" in
	start)
		export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:.

		rm -rf logs/*.log
		chmod --recursive ugo+rwx quests

		#sleep 5
		echo Loading Shared Mem...
		./shared_memory > /dev/null 2>&1 &
		
		echo Starting Login Server...
		./loginserver > /dev/null 2>&1 &
		echo $! > loginserver.pid

		sleep 2
		echo Starting World Server...
		./world > /dev/null 2>&1 &
		echo $! > world.pid

		sleep 3
		echo Starting Query Server...
		./queryserv > /dev/null 2>&1 &
		echo $! > queryserv.pid
		
		echo Starting UCS Server...
		./ucs > /dev/null 2>&1 &
		echo $! > ucs.pid

		sleep 5
		echo Starting the PEQ Zone Launcher...
		./eqlaunch peq > /dev/null 2>&1 &
		echo $! > eqlaunch.pid

		sleep 5
		echo The server is mostly ready... Give it a couple of minutes
		echo to load stuff from the database before the users start  logging in.
		;;
	stop)
		kill `cat loginserver.pid`
		kill `cat world.pid`
		kill `cat queryserv.pid`
		kill `cat ucs.pid`
		kill `cat eqlaunch.pid`
		rm -f *.pid
		echo All server components have been exited.
		;;
	restart|reload)
		$0 stop
		$0 start
		;;
	status)
		if [ -f loginserver.pid ] && ps -p `cat loginserver.pid` > /dev/null
                then
                        echo -e Login Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 2)UP$(tput sgr0)]
                else
                        echo -e Login Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 1)DOWN$(tput sgr0)]
                fi
		if [ -f world.pid ] && ps -p `cat world.pid` > /dev/null
		then
			echo -e World Server '\t\t'  [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 2)UP$(tput sgr0)]
		else
			echo -e World Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 1)DOWN$(tput sgr0)]
		fi
		if [ -f queryserv.pid ] && ps -p `cat queryserv.pid` > /dev/null
                then
                        echo -e Query Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 2)UP$(tput sgr0)]
                else
                        echo -e Query Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 1)DOWN$(tput sgr0)]
                fi
		if [ -f ucs.pid ] && ps -p `cat ucs.pid` > /dev/null
                then
                        echo -e UCS Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 2)UP$(tput sgr0)]
                else
                        echo -e UCS Server '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 1)DOWN$(tput sgr0)]
                fi
		if [ -f eqlaunch.pid ] && ps -p `cat eqlaunch.pid` > /dev/null
                then
                        echo -e Zone Launcher '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 2)UP$(tput sgr0)]
                else
                        echo -e Zone Launcher '\t\t' [$(tput bold)$(tput setaf 1)DOWN$(tput sgr0)]
                fi
		;;
	help|*)
		printf "Usage: \n ./EQServer.sh [start|stop|reload|restart|status|help]"
		printf "\n\n"
		printf " start\t\tStarts the server components\n"
		printf " stop\t\tStops all the server components started by this script\n"
		printf " restart/reload\tRestarts the server\n"
		printf " status\t\tLists the status of the server components\n"
		printf " help\t\tDisplays this message\n"
		;;

	esac
Zone launcher looks fine, and I can log in-- so not sure what's up with Login Server.



Verified that I cannot #zone to any other zones. Same error message.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-31-2015, 12:45 PM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

I can teleport to the zone ID, but it's as if the zones are only partially installed. It is black, but audio files come through.

Any ideas? Recompile?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-31-2015, 04:11 PM
rhyotte
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 222
Default

Just tagging in. Always nice to see another Linux server!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-31-2015, 06:39 PM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhyotte View Post
Just tagging in. Always nice to see another Linux server!
I'm having so many issues, I don't know if it's any better than running a Windows box.

The latest (in addition to the above) is that the login server appears messed up. I have to reboot the server in order to log back in to a character, after having played.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-07-2015, 12:53 PM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

I can't remember how I fixed it last time, but I created a new server and the Gravity issue is at hand. Anyone recall how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-07-2015, 02:46 PM
N0ctrnl's Avatar
N0ctrnl
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 443
Default

Gravity default is 0.4. Here's the script to update your database:
2015_02_12_zone_gravity.sql
Code:
ALTER TABLE `zone`
ADD COLUMN `gravity`  float NOT NULL DEFAULT .4 AFTER `snow_duration4`;
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-08-2015, 07:52 AM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N0ctrnl View Post
Gravity default is 0.4. Here's the script to update your database:
2015_02_12_zone_gravity.sql
Code:
ALTER TABLE `zone`
ADD COLUMN `gravity`  float NOT NULL DEFAULT .4 AFTER `snow_duration4`;
Thank you sir!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-08-2015, 01:52 AM
mhoskiso
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: US
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rikon View Post
Launcher Table.

[

To launch the server, I have just been using TMUX to individual run ./shared_memory > ./world > ./zone

.
I recently setup a server on Ubuntu 14.04. ./zone gave me the same issue with nothing but glooming deep working. To fix it, use ./eqlaunch zone
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-08-2015, 08:29 AM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Where are you at this point? Loginserver still not working? Until you get things resolved quit running them by script, run it all separately in different shell sessions. Open up a session for each process, that way when it dies you will know. Open up a terminal for world, and just do a ./world and another for your first zone and just do ./zone, do maybe two or three zones like that. You of course need to use a script after things get ironed out but for now do a terminal session per process. Also there is no reason I can see for your launcher to have a zone and peq both. Narrow it down to just one row, delete the peq and just have the word "zone" in there. Report back with your findings.

If a process is crashing, just let us know and I can give you a quick tutorial on finding the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-09-2015, 08:40 PM
jpyou127's Avatar
jpyou127
Discordant
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default

I have yet to get an autostart to work with linux. I use tmux and manually start each "service" each time beginning with shared_memory.

I would love to have a working Linux autostart script.

I have a working Linux login server that's stand alone on Ubuntu that is a virtual box machine. I am willing to share if anyone would like just pm me.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-09-2015, 08:42 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

Well there appears to be on just a few post up. I will share mine but that one looks even better.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-19-2015, 02:25 PM
Rikon's Avatar
Rikon
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 86
Default

Share what you have. I'd love to take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-19-2015, 02:28 PM
provocating's Avatar
provocating
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,175
Default

This is mine for Chronicles of Norrath.

start

Code:
#!/bin/sh

cd /home/eq1

cp eqtime.bak eqtime.cfg

#ulimit -c 99999999

rm -f .zone_shutdown
rm -f .world_shutdown

set -x

P=`pwd`
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:$P"

#make sure we have a place to log
mkdir -p logs 2>&1 > /dev/null

#clear out old logs, if both are stopped
if [ ! -e .lock-zones -a ! -e .lock-world ] ; then
  for f in logs/eqemu_*.log
  do
        if [ "$f" = "logs/eqemu_commands_zone.log" ]; then
                continue;
        fi

        rm -f $f
  done
fi

#start up the Shared Memory 
if [ ! -e .lock-memory ]; then
        touch .lock-memory
        ./shared_memory 2>&1 > logs/shared_memory &
        sleep 3
fi

#start up the logon server
if [ ! -e .lock-login ]; then
        touch .lock-login
        cd loginserver
        ./loginserver &
        cd ..
		sleep 2
fi

#boot up world
if [ ! -e .lock-world ] ; then
        touch .lock-world
       ./world 2>&1 > logs/world &
        # wait for shared memory to load
        sleep 15
fi

#start up the chat server 
if [ ! -e .lock-ucs ]; then
        touch .lock-ucs
        ./ucs &
        sleep 5
fi

#start up Queryserv 
if [ ! -e .lock-queryserv ]; then
        touch .lock-queryserv
        ./queryserv &
fi

#start up the official launcher
if [ ! -e .lock-static ]; then
        touch .lock-static
        ./eqlaunch static 2>&1 > logs/static &
        sleep 30
fi

#start up the official launcher
if [ ! -e .lock-launcher ]; then
        touch .lock-launcher
        ./eqlaunch zone 2>&1 > logs/launcher &
        sleep 30
fi
STOP

Code:
#!/bin/sh

touch .zone_shutdown
touch .world_shutdown

killall world ucs eqlaunch zone queryserv loginserver 
sleep 3

if ps ax|grep -e ucs -e w[o]rld -e z[o]ne -e eq[l]aunch -equeryserv -e [eqe]mu[l]ogin[s]erve >/dev/null; then
                killall -9 ucs world eqlaunch zone queryserv static loginserver
                sleep 2
fi

rm -f .lock-ucs .lock-zones .lock-world .lock-launcher .lock-queryserv .lock-memory .lock-static .lock-login
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:09 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3